Yates Center District Court in Yates Center Kansas

Address and phone number for Yates Center District Court, a Court, at West Rutledge Street, Yates Center KS.

Yates Center District Court
105 West Rutledge Street, Yates Center, Kansas, 66783

Map of Yates Center District Court in Yates Center Kansas

Get Directions to Yates Center District Court

Courts Nearby

Yates Center Municipal Court
Toronto Municipal Court
LeRoy Municipal Court
Humboldt Municipal Court
Iola Municipal Court
Iola District Court

Related Resources

About the Yates Center District Court

The Yates Center District Court, located in Yates Center, Kansas is a government institution where legal disputes are resolved in accordance with the law. In Yates Center Criminal Courts, the government brings a case against a defendant who is accused of breaking the law. In Yates Center Civil Courts, the Court settles disputes between citizens that they are unable to resolve on their own.

You may contact the Court for questions about:
  • Yates Center court records
  • Case searches and legal documents
  • Appeals and appellate process
  • Yates Center court dockets and calendars
  • Background checks
Yates Center Court Records

The Yates Center District Court maintains records on a wide variety of public court records that are available upon request at the Woodson County Courthouse. Interested parties may contact the Woodson County Court and request copies of records which may include case documents, court decisions, court records, court dockets and calendars, criminal records and background checks.

About the United States Court System

The Court system in the United States is made up of a Federal Court system and fifty state Court systems. In each system, there are two general types of Courts: Trial Courts and Appellate Courts.

Yates Center Trial Court

Trial Courts in Yates Center, KS hear cases for the first time. In a Trial Court, both sides of the dispute present evidence to support their version of events, and a jury is usually called on to decide the case. One judge presides over the case in a Trial Court.

Limited Jurisdiction Court

Woodson County Courts of limited jurisdiction may be limited to hearing only cases involving misdemeanors, small claims, or traffic and other minor violations in Kansas. Courts of limited jurisdiction may also only hear cases on specific subject matter, such as Woodson County Probate Courts and Woodson County Family Courts.

Yates Center Appellate Court

Yates Center Appellate Courts hear appeals of decisions reached at Trial Courts in Woodson County. No new evidence is presented in Appellate Court. A judge or panel of judges decides the appeal rather than a jury.

Federal Courts in Kansas

In the Federal Court system, District Courts serve as the Trial Courts. In the state Court systems, Trial Courts are further grouped into Courts of general jurisdiction and Courts of limited jurisdiction. Courts of general jurisdiction are Courts that can hear cases of any kind, including felonies. The names for Courts of general jurisdiction vary but are referred to as Superior Courts or District Courts and may be organized to hear cases within certain geographic areas, such as Woodson County.

The Appellate Courts in the Federal Court system consist of twelve Circuit Courts that are organized regionally and the U.S. Supreme Court, which is the highest Court in the country. Appellate Courts at the Kansas state level mirror the Federal structure, with one or more Appellate Courts and a Kansas Supreme Court.

Contact the Yates Center District Court

You may contact the Yates Center Courthouse by calling the Yates Center District Court non-emergency number 620-625-8610, or by addressing inquiries to the office mailing address: Yates Center District Court, 105 West Rutledge Street, Yates Center, Kansas, 66783.