Wichita District Court in Wichita Kansas

Address and phone number for Wichita District Court, a Court, at North Main Street, Wichita KS.

Wichita District Court
525 North Main Street, Wichita, Kansas, 67203

Map of Wichita District Court in Wichita Kansas

Get Directions to Wichita District Court

Courts Nearby

Wichita County Court
Wichita Municipal Court
Eastborough Municipal Court
Park City Municipal Court
Bel Aire Municipal Court
Kechi Municipal Court

Related Resources

About the Wichita District Court

The Wichita District Court, located in Wichita, Kansas is a government institution where legal disputes are resolved in accordance with the law. In Wichita Criminal Courts, the government brings a case against a defendant who is accused of breaking the law. In Wichita Civil Courts, the Court settles disputes between citizens that they are unable to resolve on their own.

You may contact the Court for questions about:
  • Wichita court records
  • Case searches and legal documents
  • Appeals and appellate process
  • Wichita court dockets and calendars
  • Background checks
Wichita Court Records

The Wichita District Court maintains records on a wide variety of public court records that are available upon request at the Sedgwick County Courthouse. Interested parties may contact the Sedgwick County Court and request copies of records which may include case documents, court decisions, court records, court dockets and calendars, criminal records and background checks.

About the United States Court System

The Court system in the United States is made up of a Federal Court system and fifty state Court systems. In each system, there are two general types of Courts: Trial Courts and Appellate Courts.

Wichita Trial Court

Trial Courts in Wichita, KS hear cases for the first time. In a Trial Court, both sides of the dispute present evidence to support their version of events, and a jury is usually called on to decide the case. One judge presides over the case in a Trial Court.

Limited Jurisdiction Court

Sedgwick County Courts of limited jurisdiction may be limited to hearing only cases involving misdemeanors, small claims, or traffic and other minor violations in Kansas. Courts of limited jurisdiction may also only hear cases on specific subject matter, such as Sedgwick County Probate Courts and Sedgwick County Family Courts.

Wichita Appellate Court

Wichita Appellate Courts hear appeals of decisions reached at Trial Courts in Sedgwick County. No new evidence is presented in Appellate Court. A judge or panel of judges decides the appeal rather than a jury.

Federal Courts in Kansas

In the Federal Court system, District Courts serve as the Trial Courts. In the state Court systems, Trial Courts are further grouped into Courts of general jurisdiction and Courts of limited jurisdiction. Courts of general jurisdiction are Courts that can hear cases of any kind, including felonies. The names for Courts of general jurisdiction vary but are referred to as Superior Courts or District Courts and may be organized to hear cases within certain geographic areas, such as Sedgwick County.

The Appellate Courts in the Federal Court system consist of twelve Circuit Courts that are organized regionally and the U.S. Supreme Court, which is the highest Court in the country. Appellate Courts at the Kansas state level mirror the Federal structure, with one or more Appellate Courts and a Kansas Supreme Court.

Contact the Wichita District Court

You may contact the Wichita Courthouse by calling the Wichita District Court non-emergency number 316-660-5801, or by addressing inquiries to the office mailing address: Wichita District Court, 525 North Main Street, Wichita, Kansas, 67203.