Wamego Municipal Court in Wamego Kansas

Address and phone number for Wamego Municipal Court, a Court, at Elm Street, Wamego KS.

Wamego Municipal Court
408 Elm Street, Wamego, Kansas, 66547

Map of Wamego Municipal Court in Wamego Kansas

Get Directions to Wamego Municipal Court

Courts Nearby

St. George Municipal Court
Paxico Municipal Court
St. Marys Municipal Court
Alma Municipal Court
Alma District Court
Manhattan District Court

Related Resources

About the Wamego Municipal Court

The Wamego Municipal Court, located in Wamego, Kansas is a government institution where legal disputes are resolved in accordance with the law. In Wamego Criminal Courts, the government brings a case against a defendant who is accused of breaking the law. In Wamego Civil Courts, the Court settles disputes between citizens that they are unable to resolve on their own.

You may contact the Court for questions about:
  • Wamego court records
  • Case searches and legal documents
  • Appeals and appellate process
  • Wamego court dockets and calendars
  • Background checks
Wamego Court Records

The Wamego Municipal Court maintains records on a wide variety of public court records that are available upon request at the Pottawatomie County Courthouse. Interested parties may contact the Pottawatomie County Court and request copies of records which may include case documents, court decisions, court records, court dockets and calendars, criminal records and background checks.

About the United States Court System

The Court system in the United States is made up of a Federal Court system and fifty state Court systems. In each system, there are two general types of Courts: Trial Courts and Appellate Courts.

Wamego Trial Court

Trial Courts in Wamego, KS hear cases for the first time. In a Trial Court, both sides of the dispute present evidence to support their version of events, and a jury is usually called on to decide the case. One judge presides over the case in a Trial Court.

Limited Jurisdiction Court

Pottawatomie County Courts of limited jurisdiction may be limited to hearing only cases involving misdemeanors, small claims, or traffic and other minor violations in Kansas. Courts of limited jurisdiction may also only hear cases on specific subject matter, such as Pottawatomie County Probate Courts and Pottawatomie County Family Courts.

Wamego Appellate Court

Wamego Appellate Courts hear appeals of decisions reached at Trial Courts in Pottawatomie County. No new evidence is presented in Appellate Court. A judge or panel of judges decides the appeal rather than a jury.

Federal Courts in Kansas

In the Federal Court system, District Courts serve as the Trial Courts. In the state Court systems, Trial Courts are further grouped into Courts of general jurisdiction and Courts of limited jurisdiction. Courts of general jurisdiction are Courts that can hear cases of any kind, including felonies. The names for Courts of general jurisdiction vary but are referred to as Superior Courts or District Courts and may be organized to hear cases within certain geographic areas, such as Pottawatomie County.

The Appellate Courts in the Federal Court system consist of twelve Circuit Courts that are organized regionally and the U.S. Supreme Court, which is the highest Court in the country. Appellate Courts at the Kansas state level mirror the Federal structure, with one or more Appellate Courts and a Kansas Supreme Court.

Contact the Wamego Municipal Court

You may contact the Wamego Courthouse by calling the Wamego Municipal Court non-emergency number 785-456-7714, or by addressing inquiries to the office mailing address: Wamego Municipal Court, 408 Elm Street, Wamego, Kansas, 66547.