Courts in Topeka, Kansas

Find Topeka, Kansas courts and courthouses, such as federal, state, district, superior, criminal, common, circuit, judicial, judiciary, divorce, appeals, family, traffic, and small claims courts. Courts provide information on legal cases, law documents, case searches, and appeals.

There are 2 Courts in Topeka, Kansas, serving a population of 127,139 people in an area of 61 square miles. There is 1 Court per 63,569 people, and 1 Court per 30 square miles.

In Kansas, Topeka is ranked 340th of 750 cities in Courts per capita, and 340th in Courts per square mile.

Topeka District Court 200 Southeast 7th Street Topeka, KS

Topeka Municipal Court 214 Southeast 8th Street Topeka, KS

About Topeka Courts

Courts in Topeka, KS are government institutions that resolve legal disputes in accordance with local Shawnee County and Kansas law and are housed in Shawnee County courthouses. Courts are divided into Criminal Courts and Civil Courts. In Topeka Criminal Courts, the government prosecutes a case against parties accused of breaking the law. In Topeka Civil Courts the Court resolves disputes between citizens.

You may contact Courts for questions about:
  • Topeka court records and judgments
  • Law documents, filings and case records
  • Appealing Topeka court judgments
  • Court calendars and dockets
  • Topeka background checks
Topeka Court Records

Topeka court records are available to the public at the Shawnee County Courthouse. Records vary by specific court, however, commonly requested public records include copies of court decisions, court filings and records, court dockets and calendars, people and background check information as well as criminal records.

About the US Court System

The United States Legal System is comprised of a Federal Court System and Fifty State Court Systems which hear cases at Topeka Courthouses.

Topeka Trial Courts

Topeka Courts, where cases are heard for the first time, are where both sides, the prosecutor and defendant present evidence to argue and support their versions of events. A jury usually decides the outcome of cases and a single judge presides over the court room.

Limited Jurisdiction Court

Limited Jurisdiction Courts in Topeka are typically limited to hearing only cases about small claims, traffic and driving violations, and misdemeanor offenses. Other courts of limited jurisdiction include Topeka Probate Courts and Topeka Family Courts.

Appellate Court in Topeka, Kansas

Appellate Courts, or Courts of Appeal, hear appeals of decisions that are reached in Topeka Trial Courts. A judge or a panel of judges presides over the appellate process and decides the outcome of the trial rather than a jury.

Kansas Federal Courts

Federal Courts are divided into Trial Courts and Appellate courts. Topeka Federal Courts are divided into Courts of General Jurisdiction and Courts of Limited Jurisdiction. General Jurisdiction Courts preside over all matters of cases, whereas Courts of Limited Jurisdiction are limited by their scope. Federal Courts in Kansas are referred to as Superior Courts or District Courts and have jurisdictional authority over defined geographic areas.

Twelve Circuit Courts comprise the US Appellate Court System with the United States Supreme Court at its head. Appellate Courts in Kansas state are similar to the Federal System, whereas multiple appellate courts hear cases within a defined geographic area, governed by the highest State Court, the Kansas Supreme Court.