Williamson County Court

Find Williamson County Tennessee courts and courthouses, such as federal, state, district, superior, criminal, common, circuit, judicial, judiciary, divorce, appeals, family, traffic, and small claims courts. Courts provide information on legal cases, law documents, case searches, and appeals.

Brentwood City Court 5211 Maryland Way Brentwood TN 37027 615-371-2272

Fairview City Court 7100 City Center Circle Fairview TN 37062 615-799-2435

Franklin City Court 109 3rd Avenue South Franklin TN 37064 615-794-5362

Franklin Criminal Court II 135 4th Avenue South Franklin TN 37064 615-790-5428

Nolensville City Court 7240 Nolensville Road Nolensville TN 37135 615-776-6684

Williamson Circuit Court 135 4th Avenue South Franklin TN 37064 615-790-5454

Williamson Criminal Court 135 4th Avenue South Franklin TN 37064 615-790-5444

Williamson Criminal Juvenile Court 408 Century Court Franklin TN 37064 615-790-5812

About Williamson County Courts

Courts in Williamson County, TN are government institutions that resolve legal disputes in accordance with local Williamson County and Tennessee law and are housed in Williamson County courthouses. Courts are divided into Criminal Courts and Civil Courts. In Williamson County Criminal Courts, the government prosecutes a case against parties accused of breaking the law. In Williamson County Civil Courts the Court resolves disputes between citizens.

You may contact Courts for questions about:
  • Williamson County court records and judgments
  • Law documents, filings and case records
  • Appealing Williamson County court judgments
  • Court calendars and dockets
  • Williamson County background checks
Williamson County Court Records

Williamson County court records are available to the public at the Williamson County Courthouse. Records vary by specific court, however, commonly requested public records include copies of court decisions, court filings and records, court dockets and calendars, people and background check information as well as criminal records.

About the US Court System

The United States Legal System is comprised of a Federal Court System and Fifty State Court Systems which hear cases at Williamson County Courthouses.

Williamson County Trial Courts

Williamson County Courts, where cases are heard for the first time, are where both sides, the prosecutor and defendant present evidence to argue and support their versions of events. A jury usually decides the outcome of cases and a single judge presides over the court room.

Limited Jurisdiction Court

Limited Jurisdiction Courts in Williamson County are typically limited to hearing only cases about small claims, traffic and driving violations, and misdemeanor offenses. Other courts of limited jurisdiction include Williamson County Probate Courts and Williamson County Family Courts.

Appellate Court in Williamson County, Tennessee

Appellate Courts, or Courts of Appeal, hear appeals of decisions that are reached in Williamson County Trial Courts. A judge or a panel of judges presides over the appellate process and decides the outcome of the trial rather than a jury.

Tennessee Federal Courts

Federal Courts are divided into Trial Courts and Appellate courts. Williamson County Federal Courts are divided into Courts of General Jurisdiction and Courts of Limited Jurisdiction. General Jurisdiction Courts preside over all matters of cases, whereas Courts of Limited Jurisdiction are limited by their scope. Federal Courts in Tennessee are referred to as Superior Courts or District Courts and have jurisdictional authority over defined geographic areas.

Twelve Circuit Courts comprise the US Appellate Court System with the United States Supreme Court at its head. Appellate Courts in Tennessee state are similar to the Federal System, whereas multiple appellate courts hear cases within a defined geographic area, governed by the highest State Court, the Tennessee Supreme Court.