Haywood County Court

Find Haywood County Tennessee courts and courthouses, such as federal, state, district, superior, criminal, common, circuit, judicial, judiciary, divorce, appeals, family, traffic, and small claims courts. Courts provide information on legal cases, law documents, case searches, and appeals.

Brownsville City Court 111 North Washington Avenue Brownsville TN 38012 731-772-1212

Brownsville Criminal Court 1 North Washington Avenue Brownsville TN 38012 731-772-2176

Haywood Circuit Court 1 North Washington Avenue Brownsville TN 38012 731-772-1112

Haywood Criminal Court 1 North Washington Avenue Brownsville TN 38012 731-772-1112

About Haywood County Courts

Courts in Haywood County, TN are government institutions that resolve legal disputes in accordance with local Haywood County and Tennessee law and are housed in Haywood County courthouses. Courts are divided into Criminal Courts and Civil Courts. In Haywood County Criminal Courts, the government prosecutes a case against parties accused of breaking the law. In Haywood County Civil Courts the Court resolves disputes between citizens.

You may contact Courts for questions about:
  • Haywood County court records and judgments
  • Law documents, filings and case records
  • Appealing Haywood County court judgments
  • Court calendars and dockets
  • Haywood County background checks
Haywood County Court Records

Haywood County court records are available to the public at the Haywood County Courthouse. Records vary by specific court, however, commonly requested public records include copies of court decisions, court filings and records, court dockets and calendars, people and background check information as well as criminal records.

About the US Court System

The United States Legal System is comprised of a Federal Court System and Fifty State Court Systems which hear cases at Haywood County Courthouses.

Haywood County Trial Courts

Haywood County Courts, where cases are heard for the first time, are where both sides, the prosecutor and defendant present evidence to argue and support their versions of events. A jury usually decides the outcome of cases and a single judge presides over the court room.

Limited Jurisdiction Court

Limited Jurisdiction Courts in Haywood County are typically limited to hearing only cases about small claims, traffic and driving violations, and misdemeanor offenses. Other courts of limited jurisdiction include Haywood County Probate Courts and Haywood County Family Courts.

Appellate Court in Haywood County, Tennessee

Appellate Courts, or Courts of Appeal, hear appeals of decisions that are reached in Haywood County Trial Courts. A judge or a panel of judges presides over the appellate process and decides the outcome of the trial rather than a jury.

Tennessee Federal Courts

Federal Courts are divided into Trial Courts and Appellate courts. Haywood County Federal Courts are divided into Courts of General Jurisdiction and Courts of Limited Jurisdiction. General Jurisdiction Courts preside over all matters of cases, whereas Courts of Limited Jurisdiction are limited by their scope. Federal Courts in Tennessee are referred to as Superior Courts or District Courts and have jurisdictional authority over defined geographic areas.

Twelve Circuit Courts comprise the US Appellate Court System with the United States Supreme Court at its head. Appellate Courts in Tennessee state are similar to the Federal System, whereas multiple appellate courts hear cases within a defined geographic area, governed by the highest State Court, the Tennessee Supreme Court.