Sumter County Mayor Office

Find Sumter County South Carolina mayor offices. Mayor offices provide information on government agencies, legislation, councils, managers, boards, elections, deputy mayors, and local, state and federal politics.

Manning Mayor 411 N Brooks St Manning SC 29102 17.7 miles from Sumter County 803-435-8477

Lamar Mayor 117 West Main Street Lamar SC 29069 25.3 miles from Sumter County 843-326-5551

Hartsville Mayor 133 West Carolina Avenue Hartsville SC 29550 36.2 miles from Sumter County 843-383-3018

Columbia City Mayor 1737 Main Street Columbia SC 29201 38.1 miles from Sumter County 803-545-3075

Darlington Mayor 106 Pearl Street Darlington SC 29532 39.6 miles from Sumter County 843-398-4020

Orangeburg Mayor 979 State Road S-38-211 Orangeburg SC 29115 40.5 miles from Sumter County 803-533-6000

Saint George Mayor 305 County Road S-18-61 St. George SC 29477 51.5 miles from Sumter County 843-563-3032

Lancaster Mayor 216 S Catawba St Lancaster SC 29720 59.7 miles from Sumter County 803-286-8414

Goose Creek Mayor 519 North Goose Creek Boulevard Goose Creek SC 29445 64.5 miles from Sumter County 843-797-6220

Mullins City Mayor 151 Northeast Front Street Mullins SC 29574 67.6 miles from Sumter County 843-464-9583

Aynor Mayor 600 South Main Street Aynor SC 29511 67.7 miles from Sumter County 843-358-6232

Chester City Mayor 100 West End Street Chester SC 29706 72.2 miles from Sumter County 803-581-2123

North Charleston Mayor 4900 Lacross Road North Charleston SC 29406 74.7 miles from Sumter County 843-740-2504

Conway Mayor 1001 3rd Avenue Conway SC 29526 76.3 miles from Sumter County 843-248-1760

Awendaw Town Mayor 6971 Doar Road Awendaw SC 29429 76.8 miles from Sumter County 843-928-4203

Carlisle Mayor 3911 Fishdam Avenue Carlisle SC 29031 77.5 miles from Sumter County 864-427-1505

Rock Hill Mayor 155 Johnston Street Rock Hill SC 29730 78.8 miles from Sumter County 803-329-7011

Aiken City Mayor 135 Laurens Street Southwest Aiken SC 29801 80.9 miles from Sumter County 803-642-7654

Fair Bluff Mayor 1175 Main Street Fair Bluff NC 28439 81.7 miles from Sumter County 910-649-7423

Mount Pleasant Mayor 100 Ann Edwards Lane Mount Pleasant SC 29464 82.1 miles from Sumter County 843-884-8517

About Mayor Offices

What are the qualifications for becoming a Mayor?

Aside from residency and age requirements, most local charters do not require any specific education or experience for the position of Mayor. Most Mayors have some prior experience as an elected or other government official, or have been involved in some form of public service. Mayors typically benefit from political and consensus building skills. In a Mayor-Council form of government, management and policy development experience are particularly advantageous.

Does the Mayor determine what ordinances and other local laws are adopted?

The Mayor may initiate or propose ordinances and other local laws, but the adoption of these measures is a legislative responsibility. The city or town council, or other legislative body, has the authority to adopt local legislation. Depending on the form of government, the Mayor may or may not have a vote in the legislative body.

What is the term of office for a Mayor?

The Mayor's term of office is determined by local charter. In most municipalities, the Mayor serves a two-year or four-year term.