Monroe County PA Department of Transportation

Find Monroe County, Pennsylvania departments of transportation, highways, roads, and bridge departments. Departments of transportation provide information on public transport, including roads, highways, bridges, traffic conditions, closures, tolls and travel information.

Barrett Township Maintenance Department Sand Spring Road Cresco PA 18326 570-595-7866

Coolbaugh Township Road Maintenance 242 Laurel Drive Tobyhanna PA 18466 570-894-8334

Pennsylvania Department Of Transportation 4218 Manor Drive Stroudsburg PA 18360 570-992-0930

Stroudsburg Transportation Department 1586 North 9th Street Stroudsburg PA 18360 570-424-3024

About Monroe County Departments of Transportation

Monroe County Departments of Transportation are branches of Pennsylvania State, Monroe County, or Federal government whose mission is to plan for and develop a fast, efficient, accessible, and convenient transportation system and infrastructure that effectively serves the citizenry and promotes economic vitality in Monroe County, PA.

You may contact the Department of Transportation for questions about:
  • Monroe County DOT compliance training
  • DOT number lookups
  • Road, interstate and highway traffic and closures
  • Road toll and travel information
  • Monroe County Transportation Dept jobs and employment
Monroe County Department of Transportation

Monroe County Transportation Departments are responsible for maintaining and improving transportation infrastructure, including state roads and highways, bridges, airports, ports and waterways, public transit systems, and railways in Monroe County. Infrastructure maintenance often involves emergency response to accidents, disasters, and inclement weather such as winter storms. Monroe County DOT Offices manages the allocation of Federal and Pennsylvania State funding for Monroe County transportation capital improvements and the use of any Pennsylvania funding sources dedicated for transportation purposes, such as toll proceeds and fuel taxes.

US Department of Transportation

The U.S. Department of Transportation (USDOT) is a cabinet-level department headed by the Secretary of Transportation. The department is comprised of eleven offices and administrations primarily organized around modes of transportation. Much of what USDOT does is regulatory in nature. For example, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration develops regulations for motor vehicle safety and for fuel efficiency standards in Monroe County. The Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration regulates the nation's pipeline infrastructure and shipments of hazardous material by land, sea, and air.

Monroe County Transportation Projects

The USDOT is a major source of funding for transportation capital projects, especially transit and highway projects in Monroe County, PA. The Surface Transportation Program provides Pennsylvania State and local Monroe County governments approximately $10 billion annually in flexible funding for a wide range of improvements, as well as capital planning purposes.