Oakland Court

Find Oakland California courts and courthouses, such as federal, state, district, superior, criminal, common, circuit, judicial, judiciary, divorce, appeals, family, traffic, and small claims courts. Courts provide information on legal cases, law documents, case searches, and appeals.

Alameda Superior Court 1225 Fallon Street Oakland CA 94612 510-891-6031

Oakland Superior Court 661 Washington Street Oakland CA 94607 510-627-4700

About Oakland Courts

Courts in Oakland, CA are government institutions that resolve legal disputes in accordance with local Alameda County and California law and are housed in Alameda County courthouses. Courts are divided into Criminal Courts and Civil Courts. In Oakland Criminal Courts, the government prosecutes a case against parties accused of breaking the law. In Oakland Civil Courts the Court resolves disputes between citizens.

You may contact Courts for questions about:
  • Oakland court records and judgments
  • Law documents, filings and case records
  • Appealing Oakland court judgments
  • Court calendars and dockets
  • Oakland background checks
Oakland Court Records

Oakland court records are available to the public at the Alameda County Courthouse. Records vary by specific court, however, commonly requested public records include copies of court decisions, court filings and records, court dockets and calendars, people and background check information as well as criminal records.

About the US Court System

The United States Legal System is comprised of a Federal Court System and Fifty State Court Systems which hear cases at Oakland Courthouses.

Oakland Trial Courts

Oakland Courts, where cases are heard for the first time, are where both sides, the prosecutor and defendant present evidence to argue and support their versions of events. A jury usually decides the outcome of cases and a single judge presides over the court room.

Limited Jurisdiction Court

Limited Jurisdiction Courts in Oakland are typically limited to hearing only cases about small claims, traffic and driving violations, and misdemeanor offenses. Other courts of limited jurisdiction include Oakland Probate Courts and Oakland Family Courts.

Appellate Court in Oakland, California

Appellate Courts, or Courts of Appeal, hear appeals of decisions that are reached in Oakland Trial Courts. A judge or a panel of judges presides over the appellate process and decides the outcome of the trial rather than a jury.

California Federal Courts

Federal Courts are divided into Trial Courts and Appellate courts. Oakland Federal Courts are divided into Courts of General Jurisdiction and Courts of Limited Jurisdiction. General Jurisdiction Courts preside over all matters of cases, whereas Courts of Limited Jurisdiction are limited by their scope. Federal Courts in California are referred to as Superior Courts or District Courts and have jurisdictional authority over defined geographic areas.

Twelve Circuit Courts comprise the US Appellate Court System with the United States Supreme Court at its head. Appellate Courts in California state are similar to the Federal System, whereas multiple appellate courts hear cases within a defined geographic area, governed by the highest State Court, the California Supreme Court.