Tioga County Clerk Office

Find Tioga County New York clerk offices, including county, city, and circuit clerks, and clerks of court. Clerks provide information on public court records and legal documents, criminal, jail, and arrest records, marriage licenses, divorce, judicial, and probate records, businesses liens, notary services, real estate taxes and voter registration services.

Barton Town Clerk 304 Waverly Street Waverly NY 14892 607-565-2261

Candor Village Clerk 138 Main Street Candor NY 13743 607-659-7966

Newark Valley Village Clerk 9 Park Street Newark Valley NY 13811 607-642-8686

Nichols Town Clerk 54 East River Road Nichols NY 13812 607-699-3110

Owego Town Clerk 2354 New York 434 Apalachin NY 13732 607-687-2194

Tioga County Clerk 56 Main Street Owego NY 13827 607-687-8240

Clerk Offices Near Me

About Clerk Offices

What fees does a Clerk charge?

State law generally enables Clerks to recover a portion of their transactional costs, and some states regulate the fees that Clerks may charge. Most permits and licenses issued by Clerks carry a set fee. Land transaction filings typically carry a base fee plus an additional per page charge. It is common for Clerks to also charge a per page fee when providing copies of documents to the public.

Do Clerks collect taxes?

Clerks do not collect taxes. Tax collection is usually handled by a separate office established for that purpose. Some Clerk's Offices may accept tax payments as a convenience to the public.

What are the requirements to become a Clerk?

In some jurisdictions, the Clerk is an elected position, while in others the Clerk is appointed. Most Clerks have a college degree and at least some professional experience. Some counties and local governments require that the Clerk have or obtain a Certified Municipal Clerk designation.