Steuben County Clerk Office

Find Steuben County New York clerk offices, including county, city, and circuit clerks, and clerks of court. Clerks provide information on public court records and legal documents, criminal, jail, and arrest records, marriage licenses, divorce, judicial, and probate records, businesses liens, notary services, real estate taxes and voter registration services.

Avoca Town Clerk 3 Chase Street Avoca NY 14809 607-566-2152

Hartsville Town Clerk 5150 Purdy Creek Road Hornell NY 14843 607-698-4940

Hornell Village Clerk 4 Maplewood Avenue Hornell NY 14843 607-324-7894

Hornellsville Town Clerk 4 Park Avenue Arkport NY 14807 607-295-9660

Jasper Clerk 3807 Preacher Road Jasper NY 14855 607-792-3576

Painted Post Clerk 261 Steuben Street Painted Post NY 14870 607-962-4605

Pulteney Town Clerk 9226 County Road 74 Hammondsport NY 14840 607-868-4222

Steuben County Clerk 3 Pulteney Square East Bath NY 14810 607-664-2243

Wayland Village Clerk 15 North Main Street Wayland NY 14572 585-728-2800

Woodhull Town Clerk 1585 Academy Street Woodhull NY 14898 607-458-5252

Clerk Offices Near Me

About Clerk Offices

What fees does a Clerk charge?

State law generally enables Clerks to recover a portion of their transactional costs, and some states regulate the fees that Clerks may charge. Most permits and licenses issued by Clerks carry a set fee. Land transaction filings typically carry a base fee plus an additional per page charge. It is common for Clerks to also charge a per page fee when providing copies of documents to the public.

Do Clerks collect taxes?

Clerks do not collect taxes. Tax collection is usually handled by a separate office established for that purpose. Some Clerk's Offices may accept tax payments as a convenience to the public.

What are the requirements to become a Clerk?

In some jurisdictions, the Clerk is an elected position, while in others the Clerk is appointed. Most Clerks have a college degree and at least some professional experience. Some counties and local governments require that the Clerk have or obtain a Certified Municipal Clerk designation.