City Councils in Chautauqua County, New York

There are 5 City Councils in Chautauqua County, New York, serving a population of 130,846 people in an area of 1,060 square miles. There is 1 City Council per 26,169 people, and 1 City Council per 211 square miles.

In New York, Chautauqua County is ranked 1st of 62 counties in City Councils per capita, and 6th of 62 counties in City Councils per square mile.

List of Chautauqua County City Councils

Find Chautauqua County, New York city councils.

Arkwright Town Council 8681 Center Road Cassadaga, NY

Dunkirk City Council 234 Lord Street Dunkirk, NY

Dunkirk New York City Council 11 Taft Place Dunkirk, NY

Pomfret Town Council 27 Cleveland Avenue Fredonia, NY

Sheridan Town Council 3251 New York 39 Forestville, NY

About Chautauqua County City Councils

The Chautauqua County City Council is the legislative body for a city government in Chautauqua County, NY. The City Council governs and sets policy for city government. Cities derive their authority from New York State, and the City Council is responsible for exercising that authority. Powers and duties of City Councils include adopting and operating capital budgets, setting Chautauqua County tax rates, authorizing borrowing, adopting ordinances and resolutions, and approving contracts. City Councils in Chautauqua County have substantial authority over regulating land use, business activity, and public health and safety, in addition to exercising eminent domain. The City Council also oversees city staff and operations in Chautauqua County.

You may contact the City Council for questions about:
  • Chautauqua County City Council meetings and minutes
  • Chautauqua County City Council calendar and agenda
  • Representatives and elected officials
  • City Council membership and districts in Chautauqua County
  • Council committees and legislative bodies