Albany County Clerk Office

Find Albany County New York clerk offices, including county, city, and circuit clerks, and clerks of court. Clerks provide information on public court records and legal documents, criminal, jail, and arrest records, marriage licenses, divorce, judicial, and probate records, businesses liens, notary services, real estate taxes and voter registration services.

Albany County Clerk 112 State Street Albany NY 12207 518-447-7168

Albany Presbytery Clerk 601 5th Avenue Watervliet NY 12189 518-273-3390

Berne Town Clerk 1656 Helderberg Trl Berne NY 12023 518-872-1448

Cohoes City Clerk 97 Mohawk Street Cohoes NY 12047 518-233-2140

Colonie Town Clerk 534 New Loudon Road Latham NY 12110 518-783-2734

Guilderland Town Clerk 5209 Western Avenue Altamont NY 12009 518-356-1980

New Scotland Town Clerk 2029 New Scotland Road Slingerlands NY 12159 518-439-4865

Ravena City Clerk 15 Russell Avenue Ravena NY 12143 518-756-2100

Watervliet Clerk 2 15th Street Watervliet NY 12189 518-270-3810

Clerk Offices Near Me

About Clerk Offices

What fees does a Clerk charge?

State law generally enables Clerks to recover a portion of their transactional costs, and some states regulate the fees that Clerks may charge. Most permits and licenses issued by Clerks carry a set fee. Land transaction filings typically carry a base fee plus an additional per page charge. It is common for Clerks to also charge a per page fee when providing copies of documents to the public.

Do Clerks collect taxes?

Clerks do not collect taxes. Tax collection is usually handled by a separate office established for that purpose. Some Clerk's Offices may accept tax payments as a convenience to the public.

What are the requirements to become a Clerk?

In some jurisdictions, the Clerk is an elected position, while in others the Clerk is appointed. Most Clerks have a college degree and at least some professional experience. Some counties and local governments require that the Clerk have or obtain a Certified Municipal Clerk designation.