Ness City Municipal Court in Ness Kansas

Address and phone number for Ness City Municipal Court, a Court, at West Main Street, Ness KS.

Ness City Municipal Court
208 West Main Street, Ness, Kansas, 67560

Map of Ness City Municipal Court in Ness Kansas

Get Directions to Ness City Municipal Court

Courts Nearby

Ness City District Court
Hanston Municipal Court
Jetmore District Court
Jetmore Municipal Court
Dighton District Court
Dighton Municipal Court

Related Resources

About the Ness City Municipal Court

The Ness City Municipal Court, located in Ness, Kansas is a government institution where legal disputes are resolved in accordance with the law. In Ness Criminal Courts, the government brings a case against a defendant who is accused of breaking the law. In Ness Civil Courts, the Court settles disputes between citizens that they are unable to resolve on their own.

You may contact the Court for questions about:
  • Ness court records
  • Case searches and legal documents
  • Appeals and appellate process
  • Ness court dockets and calendars
  • Background checks
Ness Court Records

The Ness City Municipal Court maintains records on a wide variety of public court records that are available upon request at the Ness County Courthouse. Interested parties may contact the Ness County Court and request copies of records which may include case documents, court decisions, court records, court dockets and calendars, criminal records and background checks.

About the United States Court System

The Court system in the United States is made up of a Federal Court system and fifty state Court systems. In each system, there are two general types of Courts: Trial Courts and Appellate Courts.

Ness Trial Court

Trial Courts in Ness, KS hear cases for the first time. In a Trial Court, both sides of the dispute present evidence to support their version of events, and a jury is usually called on to decide the case. One judge presides over the case in a Trial Court.

Limited Jurisdiction Court

Ness County Courts of limited jurisdiction may be limited to hearing only cases involving misdemeanors, small claims, or traffic and other minor violations in Kansas. Courts of limited jurisdiction may also only hear cases on specific subject matter, such as Ness County Probate Courts and Ness County Family Courts.

Ness Appellate Court

Ness Appellate Courts hear appeals of decisions reached at Trial Courts in Ness County. No new evidence is presented in Appellate Court. A judge or panel of judges decides the appeal rather than a jury.

Federal Courts in Kansas

In the Federal Court system, District Courts serve as the Trial Courts. In the state Court systems, Trial Courts are further grouped into Courts of general jurisdiction and Courts of limited jurisdiction. Courts of general jurisdiction are Courts that can hear cases of any kind, including felonies. The names for Courts of general jurisdiction vary but are referred to as Superior Courts or District Courts and may be organized to hear cases within certain geographic areas, such as Ness County.

The Appellate Courts in the Federal Court system consist of twelve Circuit Courts that are organized regionally and the U.S. Supreme Court, which is the highest Court in the country. Appellate Courts at the Kansas state level mirror the Federal structure, with one or more Appellate Courts and a Kansas Supreme Court.

Contact the Ness City Municipal Court

You may contact the Ness Courthouse by calling the Ness City Municipal Court non-emergency number 785-798-2229, or by addressing inquiries to the office mailing address: Ness City Municipal Court, 208 West Main Street, Ness, Kansas, 67560.