Newton County MS Fire Department

Find Newton County, Mississippi fire departments, city fire stations, firefighters, brigades, chiefs, inspectors, marshals, and local volunteers. Fire departments provide information on fire risk assessment, permits, fire alarms, and safety guidance.

Conehatta Fire Department 1332 Decatur-Conehatta Road Conehatta MS 39057 601-635-2091

Decatur Fire Department 133 7th Street Decatur MS 39327 601-635-2761

Duffee Volunteer Fire Department 378 Hopewell Road Little Rock MS 39337 601-986-2565

Gibbstown-Lawrence Volunteer Fire Department 5776 Lawrence Hazel Road Lake MS 39092 601-480-0263

Hickory Volunteer Fire Department PO Box 226 Hickory MS 39332 601-646-2211

Newton Fire Department 126 Scanlan Street Newton MS 39345 601-683-6707

Union Fire Department 514 Bank Street Union MS 39365 601-774-9211

About Newton County Fire Departments

Newton County Fire Departments provide fire protection and emergency response services to the Newton County, MS community with a mission to prevent the loss of life and property. In addition to responding to calls for fire suppression, Newton County Fire Departments respond to medical emergencies, incidents involving hazardous materials, rescue calls, and motor vehicle or other accidents.

You may contact the Fire Department for questions about:
  • Newton County fire stations
  • 9-1-1 emergencies and first response
  • Fire and emergency preparedness
  • Newton County Fire Marshals and Inspectors
  • Newton County Fire Department jobs and employment
Fire Departments in Newton County

Newton County Fire Departments may be staffed with paid professional firefighters, volunteers, or a combination of the two. Professional Fire Services in Mississippi are organized around a central command with response units, known as fire companies, geographically dispersed throughout Newton County. Newton County Volunteer Fire Departments are organized with a similar structure or as independent Newton County Fire departments and districts with their own fire company.

First Response and Fire Emergencies in Newton County, MS

In an emergency situation, 911 calls are received at a designated public safety answering point (PSAP). The Newton County PSAP routes the call to the appropriate dispatch agency, which coordinates the Newton County Fire Dept response. The responding Fire House may be determined based on geographic location or the resource needed for the call, such as an aerial ladder, fire hose, fire truck, water pumper, tanker truck, brush fire vehicle, rescue vehicle, or paramedic emergency services. In many cases, multiple Fire Stations and fire engines are dispatched to the emergency.

Newton County Fire Code Inspections

Fire prevention education is part of Fire Department operations under the authority of the Newton County Fire Marshal. Fire prevention involves the enforcement of the Newton County and Mississippi Fire Code and is closely associated with the building code and building permitting process. The Fire Marshal is involved in the plan review process for new construction or renovation projects and is responsible for ensuring that Fire Code requirements are met before signing off on design plans. Other common fire prevention efforts include educational programs in Newton County schools, public information campaigns, smoke detector distribution programs, and outreach at public events. The Newton County Fire Marshal also investigates structure fires to determine their causes.