Knox County MO Public School

Find Knox County, Missouri public schools, including charter schools, k-12, elementary, middle, and high schools. Public schools provide information on tuition, school rankings, school enrollment, education, curriculum, classes, records, and teacher-student ratios.

Knox County Elementary School 55701 Highway 6 Edina MO 63537 660-397-2285

Knox County High School 55701 Highway 6 Edina MO 63537 660-397-2228

About Knox County Public Schools

Knox County Public Schools are tuition-free, publicly funded schools that are legally required to accept and provide an education to all children from Kindergarten age through Grade 12 in Knox County, MO. Each of the fifty state constitutions includes a requirement for the provision of a Public School system, and each state, including Missouri, also has a compulsory education law that requires school-age children to attend school.

You may contact Public Schools for questions about:
  • Knox County Public School calendars
  • Admissions policies and enrollment
  • Knox County school district
  • Academics and school curriculum
  • School buses and transportation
Knox County School District

Knox County Public Schools operate within school districts which are separate entities responsible for administering Public Schools. Knox County school districts are led by boards or commissions who set policy for the district and appoint a Superintendent of Schools. Board and commission members may be elected by voters within the district, or in some cases may be appointed by the legislative body that serves the Knox County district. While the Missouri State impose frameworks and some minimum requirements for length of school year, teacher qualifications, curriculum and other elements of public education, the Knox County school district has significant latitude within these frameworks and the authority to manage the day-to-day operation of Public Schools.

Types of Knox County Public Schools

Knox County Public Schools are largely organized into three groups, each serving different grade levels. Knox County Elementary Schools typically serve students from Pre-K, Kindergarten or Grade 1 through Grade 5 or Grade 6. While all Public School districts begin Primary School by Grade 1, not all offer Kindergarten or Pre-K grades. Knox County Middle Schools cover Grades 6 or 7 through Grade 8. Knox County High Schools covers Grades 9 through 12. In small school districts, all grades may be served in one school. The completion of Grade 12 is generally considered to indicate student readiness for post-secondary education.

Specialized Public Schools in Knox County

Many Public School districts offer alternatives to traditional Public School structures, including Charter Schools and Magnet Schools. Knox County Charter Schools are Public Schools initiated by a parent or community group or organization to serve a special population or to provide special curricula or instructional practices. They are formed by a special charter or agreement with the school district that grants them additional flexibility in how they operate. Knox County Magnet Schools are Public Schools that offer a specialized theme or subject emphasis, such as science and technology, international and cultural studies, or the arts.