Courts in Waseca County, Minnesota

Find Waseca County, Minnesota courts and courthouses, such as federal, state, district, superior, criminal, common, circuit, judicial, judiciary, divorce, appeals, family, traffic, and small claims courts. Courts provide information on legal cases, law documents, case searches, and appeals.

Waseca County Court 307 North State Street Waseca, MN

About Waseca County Courts

Courts in Waseca County, MN are government institutions that resolve legal disputes in accordance with local Waseca County and Minnesota law and are housed in Waseca County courthouses. Courts are divided into Criminal Courts and Civil Courts. In Waseca County Criminal Courts, the government prosecutes a case against parties accused of breaking the law. In Waseca County Civil Courts the Court resolves disputes between citizens.

You may contact Courts for questions about:
  • Waseca County court records and judgments
  • Law documents, filings and case records
  • Appealing Waseca County court judgments
  • Court calendars and dockets
  • Waseca County background checks
Waseca County Court Records

Waseca County court records are available to the public at the Waseca County Courthouse. Records vary by specific court, however, commonly requested public records include copies of court decisions, court filings and records, court dockets and calendars, people and background check information as well as criminal records.

About the US Court System

The United States Legal System is comprised of a Federal Court System and Fifty State Court Systems which hear cases at Waseca County Courthouses.

Waseca County Trial Courts

Waseca County Courts, where cases are heard for the first time, are where both sides, the prosecutor and defendant present evidence to argue and support their versions of events. A jury usually decides the outcome of cases and a single judge presides over the court room.

Limited Jurisdiction Court

Limited Jurisdiction Courts in Waseca County are typically limited to hearing only cases about small claims, traffic and driving violations, and misdemeanor offenses. Other courts of limited jurisdiction include Waseca County Probate Courts and Waseca County Family Courts.

Appellate Court in Waseca County, Minnesota

Appellate Courts, or Courts of Appeal, hear appeals of decisions that are reached in Waseca County Trial Courts. A judge or a panel of judges presides over the appellate process and decides the outcome of the trial rather than a jury.

Minnesota Federal Courts

Federal Courts are divided into Trial Courts and Appellate courts. Waseca County Federal Courts are divided into Courts of General Jurisdiction and Courts of Limited Jurisdiction. General Jurisdiction Courts preside over all matters of cases, whereas Courts of Limited Jurisdiction are limited by their scope. Federal Courts in Minnesota are referred to as Superior Courts or District Courts and have jurisdictional authority over defined geographic areas.

Twelve Circuit Courts comprise the US Appellate Court System with the United States Supreme Court at its head. Appellate Courts in Minnesota state are similar to the Federal System, whereas multiple appellate courts hear cases within a defined geographic area, governed by the highest State Court, the Minnesota Supreme Court.