Murray County Fire Department

Find Murray County Minnesota fire departments, city fire stations, firefighters, brigades, chiefs, inspectors, marshals, and local volunteers. Fire departments provide information on fire risk assessment, permits, fire alarms, and safety guidance.

Chandler City Office 241 4th Street Chandler MN 56122 507-677-2222

Currie Fire Department 801 3rd Street Currie MN 56123 507-763-3234

Dovray Volunteer Fire Department 310 Woodman Avenue Avoca MN 56114 507-274-5420

Fulda Fire Department 102 Northeast 3rd Street Fulda MN 56131 507-425-3359

Lake Wilson Fire Department 295 Broadway Ave Lake Wilson MN 56151 507-879-3224

Slayton Fire Department 2333 Maple Avenue Slayton MN 56172 507-836-6121

About Murray County Fire Departments

Murray County Fire Departments provide fire protection and emergency response services to the Murray County, MN community with a mission to prevent the loss of life and property. In addition to responding to calls for fire suppression, Murray County Fire Departments respond to medical emergencies, incidents involving hazardous materials, rescue calls, and motor vehicle or other accidents.

You may contact the Fire Department for questions about:
  • Murray County fire stations
  • 9-1-1 emergencies and first response
  • Fire and emergency preparedness
  • Murray County Fire Marshals and Inspectors
  • Murray County Fire Department jobs and employment
Fire Departments in Murray County

Murray County Fire Departments may be staffed with paid professional firefighters, volunteers, or a combination of the two. Professional Fire Services in Minnesota are organized around a central command with response units, known as fire companies, geographically dispersed throughout Murray County. Murray County Volunteer Fire Departments are organized with a similar structure or as independent Murray County Fire departments and districts with their own fire company.

First Response and Fire Emergencies in Murray County, MN

In an emergency situation, 911 calls are received at a designated public safety answering point (PSAP). The Murray County PSAP routes the call to the appropriate dispatch agency, which coordinates the Murray County Fire Dept response. The responding Fire House may be determined based on geographic location or the resource needed for the call, such as an aerial ladder, fire hose, fire truck, water pumper, tanker truck, brush fire vehicle, rescue vehicle, or paramedic emergency services. In many cases, multiple Fire Stations and fire engines are dispatched to the emergency.

Murray County Fire Code Inspections

Fire prevention education is part of Fire Department operations under the authority of the Murray County Fire Marshal. Fire prevention involves the enforcement of the Murray County and Minnesota Fire Code and is closely associated with the building code and building permitting process. The Fire Marshal is involved in the plan review process for new construction or renovation projects and is responsible for ensuring that Fire Code requirements are met before signing off on design plans. Other common fire prevention efforts include educational programs in Murray County schools, public information campaigns, smoke detector distribution programs, and outreach at public events. The Murray County Fire Marshal also investigates structure fires to determine their causes.