Talbot County Public School

Find Talbot County Maryland public schools, including charter schools, k-12, elementary, middle, and high schools. Public schools provide information on tuition, school rankings, school enrollment, education, curriculum, classes, records, and teacher-student ratios.

Chapel District Elementary School 11430 Cordova Road Cordova MD 21625

Easton High School 723 Mecklenburg Avenue Easton MD 21601 410-822-4180

Easton Middle School 201 Peachblossom Road Easton MD 21601 410-822-2910

Glenwood Elementary School 307 Glenwood Avenue Easton MD 21601 410-822-0686

St Michaels Elementary School 100 Seymour Ave St. Michaels MD 21663 410-745-2882

St. Michaels Middle/High School 200 Seymour Avenue St. Michaels MD 21663 410-745-2852

Tilghman Elementary School 21374 Foster Road Tilghman Island MD 21671 410-886-2391

White Marsh Elementary School 4322 Lovers Lane Trappe MD 21673 410-476-3144

About Talbot County Public Schools

Talbot County Public Schools are tuition-free, publicly funded schools that are legally required to accept and provide an education to all children from Kindergarten age through Grade 12 in Talbot County, MD. Each of the fifty state constitutions includes a requirement for the provision of a Public School system, and each state, including Maryland, also has a compulsory education law that requires school-age children to attend school.

You may contact Public Schools for questions about:
  • Talbot County Public School calendars
  • Admissions policies and enrollment
  • Talbot County school district
  • Academics and school curriculum
  • School buses and transportation
Talbot County School District

Talbot County Public Schools operate within school districts which are separate entities responsible for administering Public Schools. Talbot County school districts are led by boards or commissions who set policy for the district and appoint a Superintendent of Schools. Board and commission members may be elected by voters within the district, or in some cases may be appointed by the legislative body that serves the Talbot County district. While the Maryland State impose frameworks and some minimum requirements for length of school year, teacher qualifications, curriculum and other elements of public education, the Talbot County school district has significant latitude within these frameworks and the authority to manage the day-to-day operation of Public Schools.

Types of Talbot County Public Schools

Talbot County Public Schools are largely organized into three groups, each serving different grade levels. Talbot County Elementary Schools typically serve students from Pre-K, Kindergarten or Grade 1 through Grade 5 or Grade 6. While all Public School districts begin Primary School by Grade 1, not all offer Kindergarten or Pre-K grades. Talbot County Middle Schools cover Grades 6 or 7 through Grade 8. Talbot County High Schools covers Grades 9 through 12. In small school districts, all grades may be served in one school. The completion of Grade 12 is generally considered to indicate student readiness for post-secondary education.

Specialized Public Schools in Talbot County

Many Public School districts offer alternatives to traditional Public School structures, including Charter Schools and Magnet Schools. Talbot County Charter Schools are Public Schools initiated by a parent or community group or organization to serve a special population or to provide special curricula or instructional practices. They are formed by a special charter or agreement with the school district that grants them additional flexibility in how they operate. Talbot County Magnet Schools are Public Schools that offer a specialized theme or subject emphasis, such as science and technology, international and cultural studies, or the arts.