23398 Mayor Office

Find 23398 mayor offices. Mayor offices provide information on government agencies, legislation, councils, managers, boards, elections, deputy mayors, and local, state and federal politics.

Crisfield City Mayor MAIN St Crisfield MD 21817 32.6 miles from 23398 410-968-1333

Hampton Mayor 22 Lincoln St Hampton VA 23669 40.3 miles from 23398 757-727-6315

Pocomoke City Mayor 101 Clarke Avenue Pocomoke MD 21851 43.8 miles from 23398 410-957-1334

Newport News Mayor 2400 Washington Avenue Newport News VA 23607 45.8 miles from 23398 757-926-8403

Norfolk Vice Mayor Ste 1006, 810 Union St Norfolk VA 23510 50.1 miles from 23398 757-664-4679

Portsmouth Mayor 801 Crawford St Portsmouth VA 23704 51.1 miles from 23398 757-393-8746

Virginia Beach Mayor 2401 Courthouse Dr Virginia Beach VA 23456 53.3 miles from 23398 757-385-4581

Snow Hill City Mayor 103 Bank Street Snow Hill MD 21863 54.6 miles from 23398 410-632-2080

Mayor Offices Near Me

About Mayor Offices

What are the qualifications for becoming a Mayor?

Aside from residency and age requirements, most local charters do not require any specific education or experience for the position of Mayor. Most Mayors have some prior experience as an elected or other government official, or have been involved in some form of public service. Mayors typically benefit from political and consensus building skills. In a Mayor-Council form of government, management and policy development experience are particularly advantageous.

Does the Mayor determine what ordinances and other local laws are adopted?

The Mayor may initiate or propose ordinances and other local laws, but the adoption of these measures is a legislative responsibility. The city or town council, or other legislative body, has the authority to adopt local legislation. Depending on the form of government, the Mayor may or may not have a vote in the legislative body.

What is the term of office for a Mayor?

The Mayor's term of office is determined by local charter. In most municipalities, the Mayor serves a two-year or four-year term.