22830 Mayor Office

Find 22830 mayor offices. Mayor offices provide information on government agencies, legislation, councils, managers, boards, elections, deputy mayors, and local, state and federal politics.

Shenandoah Mayor 426 1st Street Shenandoah VA 22849 22.7 miles from 22830 540-652-3328

Moorefield Town Mayor 206 Winchester Avenue Moorefield WV 26836 27.3 miles from 22830 304-530-6142

Harman Town Mayor WATER St Harman WV 26270 34.4 miles from 22830 304-227-4131

Romney Mayor 340 East Main Street Romney WV 26757 48.0 miles from 22830 304-822-5118

Parsons City Mayor 341 2nd Street Parsons WV 26287 48.2 miles from 22830 304-478-3060

Kitzmiller Mayor 104 West Center Street Kitzmiller MD 21538 51.0 miles from 22830 301-453-3449

Charlottesville City Mayor 605 East Main Street Charlottesville VA 22902 51.6 miles from 22830 434-970-3113

Capon Bridge Town Mayor 1 Whitacre Loop Capon Bridge WV 26711 52.4 miles from 22830 304-856-3625

Culpeper Town Mayor 400 South Main Street Culpeper VA 22701 54.5 miles from 22830 540-829-8320

About Mayor Offices

What are the qualifications for becoming a Mayor?

Aside from residency and age requirements, most local charters do not require any specific education or experience for the position of Mayor. Most Mayors have some prior experience as an elected or other government official, or have been involved in some form of public service. Mayors typically benefit from political and consensus building skills. In a Mayor-Council form of government, management and policy development experience are particularly advantageous.

Does the Mayor determine what ordinances and other local laws are adopted?

The Mayor may initiate or propose ordinances and other local laws, but the adoption of these measures is a legislative responsibility. The city or town council, or other legislative body, has the authority to adopt local legislation. Depending on the form of government, the Mayor may or may not have a vote in the legislative body.

What is the term of office for a Mayor?

The Mayor's term of office is determined by local charter. In most municipalities, the Mayor serves a two-year or four-year term.