Mayetta Municipal Court in Mayetta Kansas

Address and phone number for Mayetta Municipal Court, a Court, at East Main Street, Mayetta KS.

Mayetta Municipal Court
119 East Main Street, Mayetta, Kansas, 66509

Map of Mayetta Municipal Court in Mayetta Kansas

Get Directions to Mayetta Municipal Court

Courts Nearby

Hoyt Municipal Court
Denison Municipal Court
Holton District Court
Holton Municipal Court
Meriden Municipal Court
Valley Falls Municipal Court

Related Resources

About the Mayetta Municipal Court

The Mayetta Municipal Court, located in Mayetta, Kansas is a government institution where legal disputes are resolved in accordance with the law. In Mayetta Criminal Courts, the government brings a case against a defendant who is accused of breaking the law. In Mayetta Civil Courts, the Court settles disputes between citizens that they are unable to resolve on their own.

You may contact the Court for questions about:
  • Mayetta court records
  • Case searches and legal documents
  • Appeals and appellate process
  • Mayetta court dockets and calendars
  • Background checks
Mayetta Court Records

The Mayetta Municipal Court maintains records on a wide variety of public court records that are available upon request at the Jackson County Courthouse. Interested parties may contact the Jackson County Court and request copies of records which may include case documents, court decisions, court records, court dockets and calendars, criminal records and background checks.

About the United States Court System

The Court system in the United States is made up of a Federal Court system and fifty state Court systems. In each system, there are two general types of Courts: Trial Courts and Appellate Courts.

Mayetta Trial Court

Trial Courts in Mayetta, KS hear cases for the first time. In a Trial Court, both sides of the dispute present evidence to support their version of events, and a jury is usually called on to decide the case. One judge presides over the case in a Trial Court.

Limited Jurisdiction Court

Jackson County Courts of limited jurisdiction may be limited to hearing only cases involving misdemeanors, small claims, or traffic and other minor violations in Kansas. Courts of limited jurisdiction may also only hear cases on specific subject matter, such as Jackson County Probate Courts and Jackson County Family Courts.

Mayetta Appellate Court

Mayetta Appellate Courts hear appeals of decisions reached at Trial Courts in Jackson County. No new evidence is presented in Appellate Court. A judge or panel of judges decides the appeal rather than a jury.

Federal Courts in Kansas

In the Federal Court system, District Courts serve as the Trial Courts. In the state Court systems, Trial Courts are further grouped into Courts of general jurisdiction and Courts of limited jurisdiction. Courts of general jurisdiction are Courts that can hear cases of any kind, including felonies. The names for Courts of general jurisdiction vary but are referred to as Superior Courts or District Courts and may be organized to hear cases within certain geographic areas, such as Jackson County.

The Appellate Courts in the Federal Court system consist of twelve Circuit Courts that are organized regionally and the U.S. Supreme Court, which is the highest Court in the country. Appellate Courts at the Kansas state level mirror the Federal structure, with one or more Appellate Courts and a Kansas Supreme Court.

Contact the Mayetta Municipal Court

You may contact the Mayetta Courthouse by calling the Mayetta Municipal Court non-emergency number 785-966-2435, or by addressing inquiries to the office mailing address: Mayetta Municipal Court, 119 East Main Street, Mayetta, Kansas, 66509.