Bristol County Clerk Office

Find Bristol County Massachusetts clerk offices, including county, city, and circuit clerks, and clerks of court. Clerks provide information on public court records and legal documents, criminal, jail, and arrest records, marriage licenses, divorce, judicial, and probate records, businesses liens, notary services, real estate taxes and voter registration services.

Bristol County Clerk 9 Court Street Taunton MA 02780 508-823-6588

Dartmouth Town Clerk 400 Slocum Road Dartmouth MA 02747 508-999-0723

Dighton Town Clerk 979 Somerset Avenue Dighton MA 02715 508-669-5411

Easton Town Clerk 136 Elm Street Easton MA 02356 508-230-0530

Fall River City Clerk 1 Government Center Fall River MA 02720 508-324-2220

New Bedford City Clerk 133 William Street New Bedford MA 02740 508-961-3153

Norton Town Clerk 70 East Main Street Norton MA 02766 508-285-0230

Swansea Town Clerk 81 Main Street Swansea MA 02777 508-678-9389

Clerk Offices Near Me

About Clerk Offices

What fees does a Clerk charge?

State law generally enables Clerks to recover a portion of their transactional costs, and some states regulate the fees that Clerks may charge. Most permits and licenses issued by Clerks carry a set fee. Land transaction filings typically carry a base fee plus an additional per page charge. It is common for Clerks to also charge a per page fee when providing copies of documents to the public.

Do Clerks collect taxes?

Clerks do not collect taxes. Tax collection is usually handled by a separate office established for that purpose. Some Clerk's Offices may accept tax payments as a convenience to the public.

What are the requirements to become a Clerk?

In some jurisdictions, the Clerk is an elected position, while in others the Clerk is appointed. Most Clerks have a college degree and at least some professional experience. Some counties and local governments require that the Clerk have or obtain a Certified Municipal Clerk designation.