Lewis Court

Find Lewis Kansas courts and courthouses, such as federal, state, district, superior, criminal, common, circuit, judicial, judiciary, divorce, appeals, family, traffic, and small claims courts. Courts provide information on legal cases, law documents, case searches, and appeals.

Lewis Municipal Court 105 Avenue B Lewis KS 67552 620-324-5590

About Lewis Courts

Courts in Lewis, KS are government institutions that resolve legal disputes in accordance with local Edwards County and Kansas law and are housed in Edwards County courthouses. Courts are divided into Criminal Courts and Civil Courts. In Lewis Criminal Courts, the government prosecutes a case against parties accused of breaking the law. In Lewis Civil Courts the Court resolves disputes between citizens.

You may contact Courts for questions about:
  • Lewis court records and judgments
  • Law documents, filings and case records
  • Appealing Lewis court judgments
  • Court calendars and dockets
  • Lewis background checks
Lewis Court Records

Lewis court records are available to the public at the Edwards County Courthouse. Records vary by specific court, however, commonly requested public records include copies of court decisions, court filings and records, court dockets and calendars, people and background check information as well as criminal records.

About the US Court System

The United States Legal System is comprised of a Federal Court System and Fifty State Court Systems which hear cases at Lewis Courthouses.

Lewis Trial Courts

Lewis Courts, where cases are heard for the first time, are where both sides, the prosecutor and defendant present evidence to argue and support their versions of events. A jury usually decides the outcome of cases and a single judge presides over the court room.

Limited Jurisdiction Court

Limited Jurisdiction Courts in Lewis are typically limited to hearing only cases about small claims, traffic and driving violations, and misdemeanor offenses. Other courts of limited jurisdiction include Lewis Probate Courts and Lewis Family Courts.

Appellate Court in Lewis, Kansas

Appellate Courts, or Courts of Appeal, hear appeals of decisions that are reached in Lewis Trial Courts. A judge or a panel of judges presides over the appellate process and decides the outcome of the trial rather than a jury.

Kansas Federal Courts

Federal Courts are divided into Trial Courts and Appellate courts. Lewis Federal Courts are divided into Courts of General Jurisdiction and Courts of Limited Jurisdiction. General Jurisdiction Courts preside over all matters of cases, whereas Courts of Limited Jurisdiction are limited by their scope. Federal Courts in Kansas are referred to as Superior Courts or District Courts and have jurisdictional authority over defined geographic areas.

Twelve Circuit Courts comprise the US Appellate Court System with the United States Supreme Court at its head. Appellate Courts in Kansas state are similar to the Federal System, whereas multiple appellate courts hear cases within a defined geographic area, governed by the highest State Court, the Kansas Supreme Court.