Wallace County Court

Find Wallace County Kansas courts and courthouses, such as federal, state, district, superior, criminal, common, circuit, judicial, judiciary, divorce, appeals, family, traffic, and small claims courts. Courts provide information on legal cases, law documents, case searches, and appeals.

Sharon Springs District Court 313 N Main St Sharon Springs KS 67758 785-852-4289

Sharon Springs Municipal Court 111 2nd Street Sharon Springs KS 67758 785-852-4257

About Wallace County Courts

Courts in Wallace County, KS are government institutions that resolve legal disputes in accordance with local Wallace County and Kansas law and are housed in Wallace County courthouses. Courts are divided into Criminal Courts and Civil Courts. In Wallace County Criminal Courts, the government prosecutes a case against parties accused of breaking the law. In Wallace County Civil Courts the Court resolves disputes between citizens.

You may contact Courts for questions about:
  • Wallace County court records and judgments
  • Law documents, filings and case records
  • Appealing Wallace County court judgments
  • Court calendars and dockets
  • Wallace County background checks
Wallace County Court Records

Wallace County court records are available to the public at the Wallace County Courthouse. Records vary by specific court, however, commonly requested public records include copies of court decisions, court filings and records, court dockets and calendars, people and background check information as well as criminal records.

About the US Court System

The United States Legal System is comprised of a Federal Court System and Fifty State Court Systems which hear cases at Wallace County Courthouses.

Wallace County Trial Courts

Wallace County Courts, where cases are heard for the first time, are where both sides, the prosecutor and defendant present evidence to argue and support their versions of events. A jury usually decides the outcome of cases and a single judge presides over the court room.

Limited Jurisdiction Court

Limited Jurisdiction Courts in Wallace County are typically limited to hearing only cases about small claims, traffic and driving violations, and misdemeanor offenses. Other courts of limited jurisdiction include Wallace County Probate Courts and Wallace County Family Courts.

Appellate Court in Wallace County, Kansas

Appellate Courts, or Courts of Appeal, hear appeals of decisions that are reached in Wallace County Trial Courts. A judge or a panel of judges presides over the appellate process and decides the outcome of the trial rather than a jury.

Kansas Federal Courts

Federal Courts are divided into Trial Courts and Appellate courts. Wallace County Federal Courts are divided into Courts of General Jurisdiction and Courts of Limited Jurisdiction. General Jurisdiction Courts preside over all matters of cases, whereas Courts of Limited Jurisdiction are limited by their scope. Federal Courts in Kansas are referred to as Superior Courts or District Courts and have jurisdictional authority over defined geographic areas.

Twelve Circuit Courts comprise the US Appellate Court System with the United States Supreme Court at its head. Appellate Courts in Kansas state are similar to the Federal System, whereas multiple appellate courts hear cases within a defined geographic area, governed by the highest State Court, the Kansas Supreme Court.