Shawnee County Court

Find Shawnee County Kansas courts and courthouses, such as federal, state, district, superior, criminal, common, circuit, judicial, judiciary, divorce, appeals, family, traffic, and small claims courts. Courts provide information on legal cases, law documents, case searches, and appeals.

Auburn Municipal Court 161 West 9th Street Auburn KS 66402 785-256-2426

Rossville Municipal Court 438 Main Street Rossville KS 66533 785-584-6155

Silver Lake Municipal Court 218 Railroad Street Silver Lake KS 66539 785-582-4280

Topeka District Court 200 Southeast 7th Street Topeka KS 66603 785-233-8200

Topeka Municipal Court 214 Southeast 8th Street Topeka KS 66603 785-368-3776

About Shawnee County Courts

Courts in Shawnee County, KS are government institutions that resolve legal disputes in accordance with local Shawnee County and Kansas law and are housed in Shawnee County courthouses. Courts are divided into Criminal Courts and Civil Courts. In Shawnee County Criminal Courts, the government prosecutes a case against parties accused of breaking the law. In Shawnee County Civil Courts the Court resolves disputes between citizens.

You may contact Courts for questions about:
  • Shawnee County court records and judgments
  • Law documents, filings and case records
  • Appealing Shawnee County court judgments
  • Court calendars and dockets
  • Shawnee County background checks
Shawnee County Court Records

Shawnee County court records are available to the public at the Shawnee County Courthouse. Records vary by specific court, however, commonly requested public records include copies of court decisions, court filings and records, court dockets and calendars, people and background check information as well as criminal records.

About the US Court System

The United States Legal System is comprised of a Federal Court System and Fifty State Court Systems which hear cases at Shawnee County Courthouses.

Shawnee County Trial Courts

Shawnee County Courts, where cases are heard for the first time, are where both sides, the prosecutor and defendant present evidence to argue and support their versions of events. A jury usually decides the outcome of cases and a single judge presides over the court room.

Limited Jurisdiction Court

Limited Jurisdiction Courts in Shawnee County are typically limited to hearing only cases about small claims, traffic and driving violations, and misdemeanor offenses. Other courts of limited jurisdiction include Shawnee County Probate Courts and Shawnee County Family Courts.

Appellate Court in Shawnee County, Kansas

Appellate Courts, or Courts of Appeal, hear appeals of decisions that are reached in Shawnee County Trial Courts. A judge or a panel of judges presides over the appellate process and decides the outcome of the trial rather than a jury.

Kansas Federal Courts

Federal Courts are divided into Trial Courts and Appellate courts. Shawnee County Federal Courts are divided into Courts of General Jurisdiction and Courts of Limited Jurisdiction. General Jurisdiction Courts preside over all matters of cases, whereas Courts of Limited Jurisdiction are limited by their scope. Federal Courts in Kansas are referred to as Superior Courts or District Courts and have jurisdictional authority over defined geographic areas.

Twelve Circuit Courts comprise the US Appellate Court System with the United States Supreme Court at its head. Appellate Courts in Kansas state are similar to the Federal System, whereas multiple appellate courts hear cases within a defined geographic area, governed by the highest State Court, the Kansas Supreme Court.