Rice County Court

Find Rice County Kansas courts and courthouses, such as federal, state, district, superior, criminal, common, circuit, judicial, judiciary, divorce, appeals, family, traffic, and small claims courts. Courts provide information on legal cases, law documents, case searches, and appeals.

Bushton Municipal Court 217 South Main Street Bushton KS 67427 620-562-3407

Chase Municipal Court 507 Main Street Chase KS 67524 620-938-2911

Geneseo Municipal Court 600 Main Street Geneseo KS 67444 620-824-6232

Little River Municipal Court 125 Main Street Little River KS 67457 620-897-6260

Lyons District Court 101 West Commercial Street Lyons KS 67554 620-257-2383

Lyons Municipal Court 217 East Avenue South Lyons KS 67554 620-257-2320

Sterling Municipal Court 114 North Broadway Avenue Sterling KS 67579 620-278-3411

About Rice County Courts

Courts in Rice County, KS are government institutions that resolve legal disputes in accordance with local Rice County and Kansas law and are housed in Rice County courthouses. Courts are divided into Criminal Courts and Civil Courts. In Rice County Criminal Courts, the government prosecutes a case against parties accused of breaking the law. In Rice County Civil Courts the Court resolves disputes between citizens.

You may contact Courts for questions about:
  • Rice County court records and judgments
  • Law documents, filings and case records
  • Appealing Rice County court judgments
  • Court calendars and dockets
  • Rice County background checks
Rice County Court Records

Rice County court records are available to the public at the Rice County Courthouse. Records vary by specific court, however, commonly requested public records include copies of court decisions, court filings and records, court dockets and calendars, people and background check information as well as criminal records.

About the US Court System

The United States Legal System is comprised of a Federal Court System and Fifty State Court Systems which hear cases at Rice County Courthouses.

Rice County Trial Courts

Rice County Courts, where cases are heard for the first time, are where both sides, the prosecutor and defendant present evidence to argue and support their versions of events. A jury usually decides the outcome of cases and a single judge presides over the court room.

Limited Jurisdiction Court

Limited Jurisdiction Courts in Rice County are typically limited to hearing only cases about small claims, traffic and driving violations, and misdemeanor offenses. Other courts of limited jurisdiction include Rice County Probate Courts and Rice County Family Courts.

Appellate Court in Rice County, Kansas

Appellate Courts, or Courts of Appeal, hear appeals of decisions that are reached in Rice County Trial Courts. A judge or a panel of judges presides over the appellate process and decides the outcome of the trial rather than a jury.

Kansas Federal Courts

Federal Courts are divided into Trial Courts and Appellate courts. Rice County Federal Courts are divided into Courts of General Jurisdiction and Courts of Limited Jurisdiction. General Jurisdiction Courts preside over all matters of cases, whereas Courts of Limited Jurisdiction are limited by their scope. Federal Courts in Kansas are referred to as Superior Courts or District Courts and have jurisdictional authority over defined geographic areas.

Twelve Circuit Courts comprise the US Appellate Court System with the United States Supreme Court at its head. Appellate Courts in Kansas state are similar to the Federal System, whereas multiple appellate courts hear cases within a defined geographic area, governed by the highest State Court, the Kansas Supreme Court.