Osage County Court

Find Osage County Kansas courts and courthouses, such as federal, state, district, superior, criminal, common, circuit, judicial, judiciary, divorce, appeals, family, traffic, and small claims courts. Courts provide information on legal cases, law documents, case searches, and appeals.

Burlingame Municipal Court 101 East Santa Fe Avenue Burlingame KS 66413 785-654-2414

Carbondale Municipal Court 234 Main Street Carbondale KS 66414 785-836-7108

Lyndon District Court 717 Topeka Avenue Lyndon KS 66451 785-828-4514

Lyndon Municipal Court 730 Topeka Avenue Lyndon KS 66451 785-828-3146

Melvern Municipal Court 141 South Main Street Melvern KS 66510 785-549-3447

Osage City Municipal Court 201 South 5th Street Osage KS 66523 785-528-3714

Overbrook Municipal Court 401 Maple Street Overbrook KS 66524 785-224-6826

Scranton Municipal Court 120 Boone Street Scranton KS 66537 785-793-2414

About Osage County Courts

Courts in Osage County, KS are government institutions that resolve legal disputes in accordance with local Osage County and Kansas law and are housed in Osage County courthouses. Courts are divided into Criminal Courts and Civil Courts. In Osage County Criminal Courts, the government prosecutes a case against parties accused of breaking the law. In Osage County Civil Courts the Court resolves disputes between citizens.

You may contact Courts for questions about:
  • Osage County court records and judgments
  • Law documents, filings and case records
  • Appealing Osage County court judgments
  • Court calendars and dockets
  • Osage County background checks
Osage County Court Records

Osage County court records are available to the public at the Osage County Courthouse. Records vary by specific court, however, commonly requested public records include copies of court decisions, court filings and records, court dockets and calendars, people and background check information as well as criminal records.

About the US Court System

The United States Legal System is comprised of a Federal Court System and Fifty State Court Systems which hear cases at Osage County Courthouses.

Osage County Trial Courts

Osage County Courts, where cases are heard for the first time, are where both sides, the prosecutor and defendant present evidence to argue and support their versions of events. A jury usually decides the outcome of cases and a single judge presides over the court room.

Limited Jurisdiction Court

Limited Jurisdiction Courts in Osage County are typically limited to hearing only cases about small claims, traffic and driving violations, and misdemeanor offenses. Other courts of limited jurisdiction include Osage County Probate Courts and Osage County Family Courts.

Appellate Court in Osage County, Kansas

Appellate Courts, or Courts of Appeal, hear appeals of decisions that are reached in Osage County Trial Courts. A judge or a panel of judges presides over the appellate process and decides the outcome of the trial rather than a jury.

Kansas Federal Courts

Federal Courts are divided into Trial Courts and Appellate courts. Osage County Federal Courts are divided into Courts of General Jurisdiction and Courts of Limited Jurisdiction. General Jurisdiction Courts preside over all matters of cases, whereas Courts of Limited Jurisdiction are limited by their scope. Federal Courts in Kansas are referred to as Superior Courts or District Courts and have jurisdictional authority over defined geographic areas.

Twelve Circuit Courts comprise the US Appellate Court System with the United States Supreme Court at its head. Appellate Courts in Kansas state are similar to the Federal System, whereas multiple appellate courts hear cases within a defined geographic area, governed by the highest State Court, the Kansas Supreme Court.