Neosho County Court

Find Neosho County Kansas courts and courthouses, such as federal, state, district, superior, criminal, common, circuit, judicial, judiciary, divorce, appeals, family, traffic, and small claims courts. Courts provide information on legal cases, law documents, case searches, and appeals.

Chanute District Court 102 South Lincoln Avenue Chanute KS 66720 620-431-5700

Chanute Municipal Court 101 South Lincoln Avenue Chanute KS 66720 620-431-5244

Erie District Court 100 South Main Street Erie KS 66733 620-244-3831

Erie Municipal Court 101 North Main Street Erie KS 66733 620-244-3611

St. Paul Municipal Court 703 Central Street St. Paul KS 66771 620-449-2266

Thayer Municipal Court 103 Neosho Street Thayer KS 66776 620-839-5353

About Neosho County Courts

Courts in Neosho County, KS are government institutions that resolve legal disputes in accordance with local Neosho County and Kansas law and are housed in Neosho County courthouses. Courts are divided into Criminal Courts and Civil Courts. In Neosho County Criminal Courts, the government prosecutes a case against parties accused of breaking the law. In Neosho County Civil Courts the Court resolves disputes between citizens.

You may contact Courts for questions about:
  • Neosho County court records and judgments
  • Law documents, filings and case records
  • Appealing Neosho County court judgments
  • Court calendars and dockets
  • Neosho County background checks
Neosho County Court Records

Neosho County court records are available to the public at the Neosho County Courthouse. Records vary by specific court, however, commonly requested public records include copies of court decisions, court filings and records, court dockets and calendars, people and background check information as well as criminal records.

About the US Court System

The United States Legal System is comprised of a Federal Court System and Fifty State Court Systems which hear cases at Neosho County Courthouses.

Neosho County Trial Courts

Neosho County Courts, where cases are heard for the first time, are where both sides, the prosecutor and defendant present evidence to argue and support their versions of events. A jury usually decides the outcome of cases and a single judge presides over the court room.

Limited Jurisdiction Court

Limited Jurisdiction Courts in Neosho County are typically limited to hearing only cases about small claims, traffic and driving violations, and misdemeanor offenses. Other courts of limited jurisdiction include Neosho County Probate Courts and Neosho County Family Courts.

Appellate Court in Neosho County, Kansas

Appellate Courts, or Courts of Appeal, hear appeals of decisions that are reached in Neosho County Trial Courts. A judge or a panel of judges presides over the appellate process and decides the outcome of the trial rather than a jury.

Kansas Federal Courts

Federal Courts are divided into Trial Courts and Appellate courts. Neosho County Federal Courts are divided into Courts of General Jurisdiction and Courts of Limited Jurisdiction. General Jurisdiction Courts preside over all matters of cases, whereas Courts of Limited Jurisdiction are limited by their scope. Federal Courts in Kansas are referred to as Superior Courts or District Courts and have jurisdictional authority over defined geographic areas.

Twelve Circuit Courts comprise the US Appellate Court System with the United States Supreme Court at its head. Appellate Courts in Kansas state are similar to the Federal System, whereas multiple appellate courts hear cases within a defined geographic area, governed by the highest State Court, the Kansas Supreme Court.