Leavenworth County Court

Find Leavenworth County Kansas courts and courthouses, such as federal, state, district, superior, criminal, common, circuit, judicial, judiciary, divorce, appeals, family, traffic, and small claims courts. Courts provide information on legal cases, law documents, case searches, and appeals.

Basehor Municipal Court 2620 155th Street Basehor KS 66007 913-724-3397

Lansing Municipal Court 800 1st Terrace Lansing KS 66043 913-727-3000

Leavenworth District Court 601 South 3rd Street Leavenworth KS 66048 913-684-0700

Leavenworth Municipal Court 601 South 3rd Street Leavenworth KS 66048 913-758-2900

Tonganoxie Municipal Court 321 Delaware Street Tonganoxie KS 66086 913-845-2620

About Leavenworth County Courts

Courts in Leavenworth County, KS are government institutions that resolve legal disputes in accordance with local Leavenworth County and Kansas law and are housed in Leavenworth County courthouses. Courts are divided into Criminal Courts and Civil Courts. In Leavenworth County Criminal Courts, the government prosecutes a case against parties accused of breaking the law. In Leavenworth County Civil Courts the Court resolves disputes between citizens.

You may contact Courts for questions about:
  • Leavenworth County court records and judgments
  • Law documents, filings and case records
  • Appealing Leavenworth County court judgments
  • Court calendars and dockets
  • Leavenworth County background checks
Leavenworth County Court Records

Leavenworth County court records are available to the public at the Leavenworth County Courthouse. Records vary by specific court, however, commonly requested public records include copies of court decisions, court filings and records, court dockets and calendars, people and background check information as well as criminal records.

About the US Court System

The United States Legal System is comprised of a Federal Court System and Fifty State Court Systems which hear cases at Leavenworth County Courthouses.

Leavenworth County Trial Courts

Leavenworth County Courts, where cases are heard for the first time, are where both sides, the prosecutor and defendant present evidence to argue and support their versions of events. A jury usually decides the outcome of cases and a single judge presides over the court room.

Limited Jurisdiction Court

Limited Jurisdiction Courts in Leavenworth County are typically limited to hearing only cases about small claims, traffic and driving violations, and misdemeanor offenses. Other courts of limited jurisdiction include Leavenworth County Probate Courts and Leavenworth County Family Courts.

Appellate Court in Leavenworth County, Kansas

Appellate Courts, or Courts of Appeal, hear appeals of decisions that are reached in Leavenworth County Trial Courts. A judge or a panel of judges presides over the appellate process and decides the outcome of the trial rather than a jury.

Kansas Federal Courts

Federal Courts are divided into Trial Courts and Appellate courts. Leavenworth County Federal Courts are divided into Courts of General Jurisdiction and Courts of Limited Jurisdiction. General Jurisdiction Courts preside over all matters of cases, whereas Courts of Limited Jurisdiction are limited by their scope. Federal Courts in Kansas are referred to as Superior Courts or District Courts and have jurisdictional authority over defined geographic areas.

Twelve Circuit Courts comprise the US Appellate Court System with the United States Supreme Court at its head. Appellate Courts in Kansas state are similar to the Federal System, whereas multiple appellate courts hear cases within a defined geographic area, governed by the highest State Court, the Kansas Supreme Court.