Johnson County Court

Find Johnson County Kansas courts and courthouses, such as federal, state, district, superior, criminal, common, circuit, judicial, judiciary, divorce, appeals, family, traffic, and small claims courts. Courts provide information on legal cases, law documents, case searches, and appeals.

De Soto Municipal Court 32905 West 84th Street De Soto KS 66018 913-583-1182

Edgerton Municipal Court 404 East Nelson Street Edgerton KS 66021 913-893-6231

Fairway Municipal Court 4210 Shawnee Mission Parkway Fairway KS 66205 913-262-2364

Gardner Municipal Court 120 East Main Street Gardner KS 66030 913-856-0904

Leawood Municipal Court 4800 Town Center Drive Leawood KS 66211 913-339-6735

Lenexa Municipal Court 12400 West 87th Street Parkway Lenexa KS 66215 913-477-7600

Merriam Municipal Court 9000 West 62nd Terrace Mission KS 66202 913-322-5540

Mission Hills Municipal Court 7700 Mission Road Prairie Village KS 66208 913-385-4680

Mission Municipal Court 6090 Woodson Road Mission KS 66202 913-676-8325

Mission Woods Municipal Court 4700 Rainbow Boulevard Westwood KS 66205 913-362-3737

Olathe District Court 100 North Kansas Avenue Olathe KS 66061 913-715-3500

Olathe Municipal Court 1200 South Harrison Street Olathe KS 66061 913-971-7564

Overland Park Municipal Court 12400 Foster Street Overland Park KS 66213 913-327-6800

Prairie Village Municipal Court 7700 Mission Road Prairie Village KS 66208 913-385-4680

Roeland Park Municipal Court 4600 West 51st Street Roeland Park KS 66205 913-677-3389

Shawnee Municipal Court 5860 Renner Road Shawnee KS 66217 913-742-6003

Spring Hill Municipal Court 401 North Madison Street Spring Hill KS 66083 913-592-3664

Westwood Hills Municipal Court 4700 Rainbow Boulevard Westwood KS 66205 913-362-3737

Westwood Municipal Court 4700 Rainbow Boulevard Westwood KS 66205 913-362-3737

About Johnson County Courts

Courts in Johnson County, KS are government institutions that resolve legal disputes in accordance with local Johnson County and Kansas law and are housed in Johnson County courthouses. Courts are divided into Criminal Courts and Civil Courts. In Johnson County Criminal Courts, the government prosecutes a case against parties accused of breaking the law. In Johnson County Civil Courts the Court resolves disputes between citizens.

You may contact Courts for questions about:
  • Johnson County court records and judgments
  • Law documents, filings and case records
  • Appealing Johnson County court judgments
  • Court calendars and dockets
  • Johnson County background checks
Johnson County Court Records

Johnson County court records are available to the public at the Johnson County Courthouse. Records vary by specific court, however, commonly requested public records include copies of court decisions, court filings and records, court dockets and calendars, people and background check information as well as criminal records.

About the US Court System

The United States Legal System is comprised of a Federal Court System and Fifty State Court Systems which hear cases at Johnson County Courthouses.

Johnson County Trial Courts

Johnson County Courts, where cases are heard for the first time, are where both sides, the prosecutor and defendant present evidence to argue and support their versions of events. A jury usually decides the outcome of cases and a single judge presides over the court room.

Limited Jurisdiction Court

Limited Jurisdiction Courts in Johnson County are typically limited to hearing only cases about small claims, traffic and driving violations, and misdemeanor offenses. Other courts of limited jurisdiction include Johnson County Probate Courts and Johnson County Family Courts.

Appellate Court in Johnson County, Kansas

Appellate Courts, or Courts of Appeal, hear appeals of decisions that are reached in Johnson County Trial Courts. A judge or a panel of judges presides over the appellate process and decides the outcome of the trial rather than a jury.

Kansas Federal Courts

Federal Courts are divided into Trial Courts and Appellate courts. Johnson County Federal Courts are divided into Courts of General Jurisdiction and Courts of Limited Jurisdiction. General Jurisdiction Courts preside over all matters of cases, whereas Courts of Limited Jurisdiction are limited by their scope. Federal Courts in Kansas are referred to as Superior Courts or District Courts and have jurisdictional authority over defined geographic areas.

Twelve Circuit Courts comprise the US Appellate Court System with the United States Supreme Court at its head. Appellate Courts in Kansas state are similar to the Federal System, whereas multiple appellate courts hear cases within a defined geographic area, governed by the highest State Court, the Kansas Supreme Court.