Franklin County Court

Find Franklin County Kansas courts and courthouses, such as federal, state, district, superior, criminal, common, circuit, judicial, judiciary, divorce, appeals, family, traffic, and small claims courts. Courts provide information on legal cases, law documents, case searches, and appeals.

Ottawa District Court 301 South Main Street Ottawa KS 66067 785-242-6000

Ottawa Municipal Court 715 West 2nd Street Ottawa KS 66067 785-242-5333

Pomona Municipal Court 219 Jefferson Street Pomona KS 66076 785-566-3522

Richmond Municipal Court 109 East Central Avenue Richmond KS 66080 785-835-6425

Wellsville Municipal Court 411 Main Street Wellsville KS 66092 785-883-2296

Williamsburg Municipal Court 123 West William Street Williamsburg KS 66095 785-746-5578

About Franklin County Courts

Courts in Franklin County, KS are government institutions that resolve legal disputes in accordance with local Franklin County and Kansas law and are housed in Franklin County courthouses. Courts are divided into Criminal Courts and Civil Courts. In Franklin County Criminal Courts, the government prosecutes a case against parties accused of breaking the law. In Franklin County Civil Courts the Court resolves disputes between citizens.

You may contact Courts for questions about:
  • Franklin County court records and judgments
  • Law documents, filings and case records
  • Appealing Franklin County court judgments
  • Court calendars and dockets
  • Franklin County background checks
Franklin County Court Records

Franklin County court records are available to the public at the Franklin County Courthouse. Records vary by specific court, however, commonly requested public records include copies of court decisions, court filings and records, court dockets and calendars, people and background check information as well as criminal records.

About the US Court System

The United States Legal System is comprised of a Federal Court System and Fifty State Court Systems which hear cases at Franklin County Courthouses.

Franklin County Trial Courts

Franklin County Courts, where cases are heard for the first time, are where both sides, the prosecutor and defendant present evidence to argue and support their versions of events. A jury usually decides the outcome of cases and a single judge presides over the court room.

Limited Jurisdiction Court

Limited Jurisdiction Courts in Franklin County are typically limited to hearing only cases about small claims, traffic and driving violations, and misdemeanor offenses. Other courts of limited jurisdiction include Franklin County Probate Courts and Franklin County Family Courts.

Appellate Court in Franklin County, Kansas

Appellate Courts, or Courts of Appeal, hear appeals of decisions that are reached in Franklin County Trial Courts. A judge or a panel of judges presides over the appellate process and decides the outcome of the trial rather than a jury.

Kansas Federal Courts

Federal Courts are divided into Trial Courts and Appellate courts. Franklin County Federal Courts are divided into Courts of General Jurisdiction and Courts of Limited Jurisdiction. General Jurisdiction Courts preside over all matters of cases, whereas Courts of Limited Jurisdiction are limited by their scope. Federal Courts in Kansas are referred to as Superior Courts or District Courts and have jurisdictional authority over defined geographic areas.

Twelve Circuit Courts comprise the US Appellate Court System with the United States Supreme Court at its head. Appellate Courts in Kansas state are similar to the Federal System, whereas multiple appellate courts hear cases within a defined geographic area, governed by the highest State Court, the Kansas Supreme Court.