Ford County Court

Find Ford County Kansas courts and courthouses, such as federal, state, district, superior, criminal, common, circuit, judicial, judiciary, divorce, appeals, family, traffic, and small claims courts. Courts provide information on legal cases, law documents, case searches, and appeals.

Bucklin Municipal Court 117 West Oak Street Bucklin KS 67834 620-826-3581

Dodge City District Court 101 West Spruce Street Dodge KS 67801 620-227-4609

Dodge City Municipal Court 806 North 2nd Avenue Dodge KS 67801 620-225-8107

Minneola Municipal Court 126 Main St Bloom KS 67865 620-885-4331

Spearville Municipal Court 103 W Ave A Spearville KS 67876 620-385-2512

About Ford County Courts

Courts in Ford County, KS are government institutions that resolve legal disputes in accordance with local Ford County and Kansas law and are housed in Ford County courthouses. Courts are divided into Criminal Courts and Civil Courts. In Ford County Criminal Courts, the government prosecutes a case against parties accused of breaking the law. In Ford County Civil Courts the Court resolves disputes between citizens.

You may contact Courts for questions about:
  • Ford County court records and judgments
  • Law documents, filings and case records
  • Appealing Ford County court judgments
  • Court calendars and dockets
  • Ford County background checks
Ford County Court Records

Ford County court records are available to the public at the Ford County Courthouse. Records vary by specific court, however, commonly requested public records include copies of court decisions, court filings and records, court dockets and calendars, people and background check information as well as criminal records.

About the US Court System

The United States Legal System is comprised of a Federal Court System and Fifty State Court Systems which hear cases at Ford County Courthouses.

Ford County Trial Courts

Ford County Courts, where cases are heard for the first time, are where both sides, the prosecutor and defendant present evidence to argue and support their versions of events. A jury usually decides the outcome of cases and a single judge presides over the court room.

Limited Jurisdiction Court

Limited Jurisdiction Courts in Ford County are typically limited to hearing only cases about small claims, traffic and driving violations, and misdemeanor offenses. Other courts of limited jurisdiction include Ford County Probate Courts and Ford County Family Courts.

Appellate Court in Ford County, Kansas

Appellate Courts, or Courts of Appeal, hear appeals of decisions that are reached in Ford County Trial Courts. A judge or a panel of judges presides over the appellate process and decides the outcome of the trial rather than a jury.

Kansas Federal Courts

Federal Courts are divided into Trial Courts and Appellate courts. Ford County Federal Courts are divided into Courts of General Jurisdiction and Courts of Limited Jurisdiction. General Jurisdiction Courts preside over all matters of cases, whereas Courts of Limited Jurisdiction are limited by their scope. Federal Courts in Kansas are referred to as Superior Courts or District Courts and have jurisdictional authority over defined geographic areas.

Twelve Circuit Courts comprise the US Appellate Court System with the United States Supreme Court at its head. Appellate Courts in Kansas state are similar to the Federal System, whereas multiple appellate courts hear cases within a defined geographic area, governed by the highest State Court, the Kansas Supreme Court.