Douglas County Court

Find Douglas County Kansas courts and courthouses, such as federal, state, district, superior, criminal, common, circuit, judicial, judiciary, divorce, appeals, family, traffic, and small claims courts. Courts provide information on legal cases, law documents, case searches, and appeals.

Baldwin City Municipal Court 803 8th St Baldwin KS 66006 785-594-6821

Eudora Municipal Court 4 East 7th Street Eudora KS 66025 785-594-6821

Lawrence Municipal Court 1006 New Hampshire Street Lawrence KS 66044 785-832-6190

About Douglas County Courts

Courts in Douglas County, KS are government institutions that resolve legal disputes in accordance with local Douglas County and Kansas law and are housed in Douglas County courthouses. Courts are divided into Criminal Courts and Civil Courts. In Douglas County Criminal Courts, the government prosecutes a case against parties accused of breaking the law. In Douglas County Civil Courts the Court resolves disputes between citizens.

You may contact Courts for questions about:
  • Douglas County court records and judgments
  • Law documents, filings and case records
  • Appealing Douglas County court judgments
  • Court calendars and dockets
  • Douglas County background checks
Douglas County Court Records

Douglas County court records are available to the public at the Douglas County Courthouse. Records vary by specific court, however, commonly requested public records include copies of court decisions, court filings and records, court dockets and calendars, people and background check information as well as criminal records.

About the US Court System

The United States Legal System is comprised of a Federal Court System and Fifty State Court Systems which hear cases at Douglas County Courthouses.

Douglas County Trial Courts

Douglas County Courts, where cases are heard for the first time, are where both sides, the prosecutor and defendant present evidence to argue and support their versions of events. A jury usually decides the outcome of cases and a single judge presides over the court room.

Limited Jurisdiction Court

Limited Jurisdiction Courts in Douglas County are typically limited to hearing only cases about small claims, traffic and driving violations, and misdemeanor offenses. Other courts of limited jurisdiction include Douglas County Probate Courts and Douglas County Family Courts.

Appellate Court in Douglas County, Kansas

Appellate Courts, or Courts of Appeal, hear appeals of decisions that are reached in Douglas County Trial Courts. A judge or a panel of judges presides over the appellate process and decides the outcome of the trial rather than a jury.

Kansas Federal Courts

Federal Courts are divided into Trial Courts and Appellate courts. Douglas County Federal Courts are divided into Courts of General Jurisdiction and Courts of Limited Jurisdiction. General Jurisdiction Courts preside over all matters of cases, whereas Courts of Limited Jurisdiction are limited by their scope. Federal Courts in Kansas are referred to as Superior Courts or District Courts and have jurisdictional authority over defined geographic areas.

Twelve Circuit Courts comprise the US Appellate Court System with the United States Supreme Court at its head. Appellate Courts in Kansas state are similar to the Federal System, whereas multiple appellate courts hear cases within a defined geographic area, governed by the highest State Court, the Kansas Supreme Court.