Clark County Court

Find Clark County Kansas courts and courthouses, such as federal, state, district, superior, criminal, common, circuit, judicial, judiciary, divorce, appeals, family, traffic, and small claims courts. Courts provide information on legal cases, law documents, case searches, and appeals.

Ashland District Court 913 Highland Street Ashland KS 67831 620-635-2753

Ashland Municipal Court 703 South Main Street Ashland KS 67831 620-635-2205

About Clark County Courts

Courts in Clark County, KS are government institutions that resolve legal disputes in accordance with local Clark County and Kansas law and are housed in Clark County courthouses. Courts are divided into Criminal Courts and Civil Courts. In Clark County Criminal Courts, the government prosecutes a case against parties accused of breaking the law. In Clark County Civil Courts the Court resolves disputes between citizens.

You may contact Courts for questions about:
  • Clark County court records and judgments
  • Law documents, filings and case records
  • Appealing Clark County court judgments
  • Court calendars and dockets
  • Clark County background checks
Clark County Court Records

Clark County court records are available to the public at the Clark County Courthouse. Records vary by specific court, however, commonly requested public records include copies of court decisions, court filings and records, court dockets and calendars, people and background check information as well as criminal records.

About the US Court System

The United States Legal System is comprised of a Federal Court System and Fifty State Court Systems which hear cases at Clark County Courthouses.

Clark County Trial Courts

Clark County Courts, where cases are heard for the first time, are where both sides, the prosecutor and defendant present evidence to argue and support their versions of events. A jury usually decides the outcome of cases and a single judge presides over the court room.

Limited Jurisdiction Court

Limited Jurisdiction Courts in Clark County are typically limited to hearing only cases about small claims, traffic and driving violations, and misdemeanor offenses. Other courts of limited jurisdiction include Clark County Probate Courts and Clark County Family Courts.

Appellate Court in Clark County, Kansas

Appellate Courts, or Courts of Appeal, hear appeals of decisions that are reached in Clark County Trial Courts. A judge or a panel of judges presides over the appellate process and decides the outcome of the trial rather than a jury.

Kansas Federal Courts

Federal Courts are divided into Trial Courts and Appellate courts. Clark County Federal Courts are divided into Courts of General Jurisdiction and Courts of Limited Jurisdiction. General Jurisdiction Courts preside over all matters of cases, whereas Courts of Limited Jurisdiction are limited by their scope. Federal Courts in Kansas are referred to as Superior Courts or District Courts and have jurisdictional authority over defined geographic areas.

Twelve Circuit Courts comprise the US Appellate Court System with the United States Supreme Court at its head. Appellate Courts in Kansas state are similar to the Federal System, whereas multiple appellate courts hear cases within a defined geographic area, governed by the highest State Court, the Kansas Supreme Court.