Lawrence County Court

Find Lawrence County Indiana courts and courthouses, such as federal, state, district, superior, criminal, common, circuit, judicial, judiciary, divorce, appeals, family, traffic, and small claims courts. Courts provide information on legal cases, law documents, case searches, and appeals.

Lawrence County Circuit Court 916 15th Street Bedford IN 47421 812-275-2421

Lawrence County Superior Court I 918 16th Street Bedford IN 47421 812-275-3624

Lawrence County Superior Court II 918 16th Street Bedford IN 47421 812-275-4161

Lawrence County Superior Court III 918 16th Street Bedford IN 47421 812-275-4161

About Lawrence County Courts

Courts in Lawrence County, IN are government institutions that resolve legal disputes in accordance with local Lawrence County and Indiana law and are housed in Lawrence County courthouses. Courts are divided into Criminal Courts and Civil Courts. In Lawrence County Criminal Courts, the government prosecutes a case against parties accused of breaking the law. In Lawrence County Civil Courts the Court resolves disputes between citizens.

You may contact Courts for questions about:
  • Lawrence County court records and judgments
  • Law documents, filings and case records
  • Appealing Lawrence County court judgments
  • Court calendars and dockets
  • Lawrence County background checks
Lawrence County Court Records

Lawrence County court records are available to the public at the Lawrence County Courthouse. Records vary by specific court, however, commonly requested public records include copies of court decisions, court filings and records, court dockets and calendars, people and background check information as well as criminal records.

About the US Court System

The United States Legal System is comprised of a Federal Court System and Fifty State Court Systems which hear cases at Lawrence County Courthouses.

Lawrence County Trial Courts

Lawrence County Courts, where cases are heard for the first time, are where both sides, the prosecutor and defendant present evidence to argue and support their versions of events. A jury usually decides the outcome of cases and a single judge presides over the court room.

Limited Jurisdiction Court

Limited Jurisdiction Courts in Lawrence County are typically limited to hearing only cases about small claims, traffic and driving violations, and misdemeanor offenses. Other courts of limited jurisdiction include Lawrence County Probate Courts and Lawrence County Family Courts.

Appellate Court in Lawrence County, Indiana

Appellate Courts, or Courts of Appeal, hear appeals of decisions that are reached in Lawrence County Trial Courts. A judge or a panel of judges presides over the appellate process and decides the outcome of the trial rather than a jury.

Indiana Federal Courts

Federal Courts are divided into Trial Courts and Appellate courts. Lawrence County Federal Courts are divided into Courts of General Jurisdiction and Courts of Limited Jurisdiction. General Jurisdiction Courts preside over all matters of cases, whereas Courts of Limited Jurisdiction are limited by their scope. Federal Courts in Indiana are referred to as Superior Courts or District Courts and have jurisdictional authority over defined geographic areas.

Twelve Circuit Courts comprise the US Appellate Court System with the United States Supreme Court at its head. Appellate Courts in Indiana state are similar to the Federal System, whereas multiple appellate courts hear cases within a defined geographic area, governed by the highest State Court, the Indiana Supreme Court.