Departments of Education in Will County, Illinois

Find Will County, Illinois departments of education (DOE) and boards of education. Departments of education provide information on K-12 schools, secondary education and high school, and higher education including colleges and universities.

Berea Illinois Department of Education 205 River Edge Drive Romeoville, IL

Cleveland IL Department of Education 60181 Illinois 129 Braceville, IL

Lagrange CT Department of Education 20270 South La Grange Road Frankfort, IL

Marion Department of Education 601 Willow Street Frankfort, IL

Mecklenburg County Department of Education 23917 Virginia Lane Mokena, IL

Mokena Department of Education 11331 195th Street Mokena, IL

New Lenox Department of Education 731 East Joliet Highway New Lenox, IL

Quincy Department of Education 1511 Gypsum Circle Naperville, IL

About Will County Departments of Education

The Will County Department of Education is an Illinois state or federal agency whose mission is to provide leadership, develop policy, and disseminate funding, information, and other resources in support of student achievement in Will County, IL. While the missions of Illinois Departments of Education are similar to the federal Department of Education, state Departments of Education play a substantially different role in achieving their missions.

You may contact the Department of Education for questions about:
  • Will County public school system
  • Public school education programs
  • Will County school districts
  • Student loans and financial aid
  • School curriculum and tests
  • Will County school superintendents
US Department of Education

The U.S. Department of Education is a cabinet-level department headed by the Secretary of Education. Unlike most Illinois Departments of Education, the scope of the U.S. Department of Education extends beyond Will County secondary school to include post-secondary education. It primarily influences education at the Illinois and local Will County level through the distribution of grants and by setting the conditions and requirements to qualify for federal funding. The U.S. Department of Education awards education block grants to states without an application process, which are based on student demographic and other factors. The largest of these grant programs are Title I of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA) and the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA).

Education Grants

The U.S. Department of Education also awards competitive grants in Will County. Examples of these grants include the School Improvement Grants program, which helps states turn around their most underperforming schools, and the Teacher Incentive Fund, which helps Will County school districts develop performance-based teacher and principal compensation systems. The U.S. Department of Education supports post-secondary education primarily through the Pell Grant program, a tuition assistance initiative for low-income students in Will County.

Illinois Department of Education

The Illinois Department of Education is responsible for distributing federal education funds and state aid to local Will County school districts, serving as the administrative arm of the State Board of Education, managing technical high school systems, and operating schools for the blind, deaf, and disabled. Performance standards, curriculum requirements, and assessment requirements for Will County school districts are defined at the state level through the Illinois Board of Education. Illinois also accredits local districts and approves courses and professional programs for teachers and school administrators in Will County.