Lake County IL Department of Education

Find Lake County, Illinois departments of education (DOE) and boards of education. Departments of education provide information on K-12 schools, secondary education and high school, and higher education including colleges and universities.

Carter Terry-Harlem Department of Education Chardon Lane Grayslake IL 60030 815-654-4581

Glencoe Department of Education 802 Villas Court Highland Park IL 60035 847-835-7800

LA Crosse Department of Education 542 Grand Avenue Waukegan IL 60085 608-789-7600

Mays Landing Green County Department of Education Saint Mary's Lane Lindenhurst IL 60046 205-372-2052

Mendon Department of Education 100 North California Avenue Mundelein IL 60060 217-936-2111

Neptune Township Department of Education 1717 17th Street North Chicago IL 60064 732-776-2200

Northbrook Department of Education 1600 Illinois 22 Lake Zurich IL 60047 847-272-7847

Public Cicero Department of Education 27190 North Lookout Pointe Road Lake Barrington IL 60010 708-222-5700

Westwood Chicago Department of Education 20 Westwood Lane Lincolnshire IL 60069 773-535-8022

About Lake County Departments of Education

The Lake County Department of Education is an Illinois state or federal agency whose mission is to provide leadership, develop policy, and disseminate funding, information, and other resources in support of student achievement in Lake County, IL. While the missions of Illinois Departments of Education are similar to the federal Department of Education, state Departments of Education play a substantially different role in achieving their missions.

You may contact the Department of Education for questions about:
  • Lake County public school system
  • Public school education programs
  • Lake County school districts
  • Student loans and financial aid
  • School curriculum and tests
  • Lake County school superintendents
US Department of Education

The U.S. Department of Education is a cabinet-level department headed by the Secretary of Education. Unlike most Illinois Departments of Education, the scope of the U.S. Department of Education extends beyond Lake County secondary school to include post-secondary education. It primarily influences education at the Illinois and local Lake County level through the distribution of grants and by setting the conditions and requirements to qualify for federal funding. The U.S. Department of Education awards education block grants to states without an application process, which are based on student demographic and other factors. The largest of these grant programs are Title I of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA) and the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA).

Education Grants

The U.S. Department of Education also awards competitive grants in Lake County. Examples of these grants include the School Improvement Grants program, which helps states turn around their most underperforming schools, and the Teacher Incentive Fund, which helps Lake County school districts develop performance-based teacher and principal compensation systems. The U.S. Department of Education supports post-secondary education primarily through the Pell Grant program, a tuition assistance initiative for low-income students in Lake County.

Illinois Department of Education

The Illinois Department of Education is responsible for distributing federal education funds and state aid to local Lake County school districts, serving as the administrative arm of the State Board of Education, managing technical high school systems, and operating schools for the blind, deaf, and disabled. Performance standards, curriculum requirements, and assessment requirements for Lake County school districts are defined at the state level through the Illinois Board of Education. Illinois also accredits local districts and approves courses and professional programs for teachers and school administrators in Lake County.