Winnebago County Court

Find Winnebago County Iowa courts and courthouses, such as federal, state, district, superior, criminal, common, circuit, judicial, judiciary, divorce, appeals, family, traffic, and small claims courts. Courts provide information on legal cases, law documents, case searches, and appeals.

Forest City District Court 126 South Clark Street Forest IA 50436 641-585-4520

About Winnebago County Courts

Courts in Winnebago County, IA are government institutions that resolve legal disputes in accordance with local Winnebago County and Iowa law and are housed in Winnebago County courthouses. Courts are divided into Criminal Courts and Civil Courts. In Winnebago County Criminal Courts, the government prosecutes a case against parties accused of breaking the law. In Winnebago County Civil Courts the Court resolves disputes between citizens.

You may contact Courts for questions about:
  • Winnebago County court records and judgments
  • Law documents, filings and case records
  • Appealing Winnebago County court judgments
  • Court calendars and dockets
  • Winnebago County background checks
Winnebago County Court Records

Winnebago County court records are available to the public at the Winnebago County Courthouse. Records vary by specific court, however, commonly requested public records include copies of court decisions, court filings and records, court dockets and calendars, people and background check information as well as criminal records.

About the US Court System

The United States Legal System is comprised of a Federal Court System and Fifty State Court Systems which hear cases at Winnebago County Courthouses.

Winnebago County Trial Courts

Winnebago County Courts, where cases are heard for the first time, are where both sides, the prosecutor and defendant present evidence to argue and support their versions of events. A jury usually decides the outcome of cases and a single judge presides over the court room.

Limited Jurisdiction Court

Limited Jurisdiction Courts in Winnebago County are typically limited to hearing only cases about small claims, traffic and driving violations, and misdemeanor offenses. Other courts of limited jurisdiction include Winnebago County Probate Courts and Winnebago County Family Courts.

Appellate Court in Winnebago County, Iowa

Appellate Courts, or Courts of Appeal, hear appeals of decisions that are reached in Winnebago County Trial Courts. A judge or a panel of judges presides over the appellate process and decides the outcome of the trial rather than a jury.

Iowa Federal Courts

Federal Courts are divided into Trial Courts and Appellate courts. Winnebago County Federal Courts are divided into Courts of General Jurisdiction and Courts of Limited Jurisdiction. General Jurisdiction Courts preside over all matters of cases, whereas Courts of Limited Jurisdiction are limited by their scope. Federal Courts in Iowa are referred to as Superior Courts or District Courts and have jurisdictional authority over defined geographic areas.

Twelve Circuit Courts comprise the US Appellate Court System with the United States Supreme Court at its head. Appellate Courts in Iowa state are similar to the Federal System, whereas multiple appellate courts hear cases within a defined geographic area, governed by the highest State Court, the Iowa Supreme Court.