Shelby County Public School

Find Shelby County Iowa public schools, including charter schools, k-12, elementary, middle, and high schools. Public schools provide information on tuition, school rankings, school enrollment, education, curriculum, classes, records, and teacher-student ratios.

Elk Horn Kimballton Elementary 4114 Madison Street Elk Horn IA 51531 712-764-4606

Harlan Comm Intermediate School 1401 19th Street Harlan IA 51537 712-755-2725

Harlan Comm Primary School 2105 Durant Street Harlan IA 51537 712-755-5903

Harlan Community High School 2102 Durant Street Harlan IA 51537 712-755-2152

Harlan Community Middle School 2108 Durant Street Harlan IA 51537 712-755-3196

Irwin Elementary School 100 Eva Street Irwin IA 51446 712-782-3134

About Shelby County Public Schools

Shelby County Public Schools are tuition-free, publicly funded schools that are legally required to accept and provide an education to all children from Kindergarten age through Grade 12 in Shelby County, IA. Each of the fifty state constitutions includes a requirement for the provision of a Public School system, and each state, including Iowa, also has a compulsory education law that requires school-age children to attend school.

You may contact Public Schools for questions about:
  • Shelby County Public School calendars
  • Admissions policies and enrollment
  • Shelby County school district
  • Academics and school curriculum
  • School buses and transportation
Shelby County School District

Shelby County Public Schools operate within school districts which are separate entities responsible for administering Public Schools. Shelby County school districts are led by boards or commissions who set policy for the district and appoint a Superintendent of Schools. Board and commission members may be elected by voters within the district, or in some cases may be appointed by the legislative body that serves the Shelby County district. While the Iowa State impose frameworks and some minimum requirements for length of school year, teacher qualifications, curriculum and other elements of public education, the Shelby County school district has significant latitude within these frameworks and the authority to manage the day-to-day operation of Public Schools.

Types of Shelby County Public Schools

Shelby County Public Schools are largely organized into three groups, each serving different grade levels. Shelby County Elementary Schools typically serve students from Pre-K, Kindergarten or Grade 1 through Grade 5 or Grade 6. While all Public School districts begin Primary School by Grade 1, not all offer Kindergarten or Pre-K grades. Shelby County Middle Schools cover Grades 6 or 7 through Grade 8. Shelby County High Schools covers Grades 9 through 12. In small school districts, all grades may be served in one school. The completion of Grade 12 is generally considered to indicate student readiness for post-secondary education.

Specialized Public Schools in Shelby County

Many Public School districts offer alternatives to traditional Public School structures, including Charter Schools and Magnet Schools. Shelby County Charter Schools are Public Schools initiated by a parent or community group or organization to serve a special population or to provide special curricula or instructional practices. They are formed by a special charter or agreement with the school district that grants them additional flexibility in how they operate. Shelby County Magnet Schools are Public Schools that offer a specialized theme or subject emphasis, such as science and technology, international and cultural studies, or the arts.