Mahaska County Public School

Find Mahaska County Iowa public schools, including charter schools, k-12, elementary, middle, and high schools. Public schools provide information on tuition, school rankings, school enrollment, education, curriculum, classes, records, and teacher-student ratios.

Fremont Elementary School 525 East Main Street Fremont IA 52561 641-933-4211

North Mahaska Elementary School 2163 135th Street New Sharon IA 50207 641-637-4041

North Mahaska Junior/Senior High School 2163 135th Street New Sharon IA 50207 641-637-4187

Oskaloosa Elementary School 1801 Orchard Avenue Oskaloosa IA 52577 641-673-8092

Oskaloosa High School 1816 North 3rd Street Oskaloosa IA 52577 641-673-3407

Oskaloosa Middle School 1704 North 3rd Street Oskaloosa IA 52577 641-673-8308

Oskaloosa Preschool 508 South 7th Street Oskaloosa IA 52577 641-676-1632

About Mahaska County Public Schools

Mahaska County Public Schools are tuition-free, publicly funded schools that are legally required to accept and provide an education to all children from Kindergarten age through Grade 12 in Mahaska County, IA. Each of the fifty state constitutions includes a requirement for the provision of a Public School system, and each state, including Iowa, also has a compulsory education law that requires school-age children to attend school.

You may contact Public Schools for questions about:
  • Mahaska County Public School calendars
  • Admissions policies and enrollment
  • Mahaska County school district
  • Academics and school curriculum
  • School buses and transportation
Mahaska County School District

Mahaska County Public Schools operate within school districts which are separate entities responsible for administering Public Schools. Mahaska County school districts are led by boards or commissions who set policy for the district and appoint a Superintendent of Schools. Board and commission members may be elected by voters within the district, or in some cases may be appointed by the legislative body that serves the Mahaska County district. While the Iowa State impose frameworks and some minimum requirements for length of school year, teacher qualifications, curriculum and other elements of public education, the Mahaska County school district has significant latitude within these frameworks and the authority to manage the day-to-day operation of Public Schools.

Types of Mahaska County Public Schools

Mahaska County Public Schools are largely organized into three groups, each serving different grade levels. Mahaska County Elementary Schools typically serve students from Pre-K, Kindergarten or Grade 1 through Grade 5 or Grade 6. While all Public School districts begin Primary School by Grade 1, not all offer Kindergarten or Pre-K grades. Mahaska County Middle Schools cover Grades 6 or 7 through Grade 8. Mahaska County High Schools covers Grades 9 through 12. In small school districts, all grades may be served in one school. The completion of Grade 12 is generally considered to indicate student readiness for post-secondary education.

Specialized Public Schools in Mahaska County

Many Public School districts offer alternatives to traditional Public School structures, including Charter Schools and Magnet Schools. Mahaska County Charter Schools are Public Schools initiated by a parent or community group or organization to serve a special population or to provide special curricula or instructional practices. They are formed by a special charter or agreement with the school district that grants them additional flexibility in how they operate. Mahaska County Magnet Schools are Public Schools that offer a specialized theme or subject emphasis, such as science and technology, international and cultural studies, or the arts.