Kossuth County Fire Department

Find Kossuth County Iowa fire departments, city fire stations, firefighters, brigades, chiefs, inspectors, marshals, and local volunteers. Fire departments provide information on fire risk assessment, permits, fire alarms, and safety guidance.

Algona Fire Department 707 East State Street Algona IA 50511 515-295-3642

Bancroft Community Fire Department 112 North Portland Street Bancroft IA 50517 515-885-2382

Burt City Emergency Services Building 301 1st Street Burt IA 50522 515-924-3829

Fenton Fire Department 304 Railroad Street Fenton IA 50539 515-889-2761

Lakota Fire Department 205 Brewer Street Lakota IA 50451 515-886-2312

Ledyard Fire Department 301 Edmunds Street Ledyard IA 50556

Lone Rock Fire Department 301 Maine Street Lone Rock IA 50559

Lu Verne Volunteer Fire Department 107 Dewitt Street Lu Verne IA 50560 515-882-3507

Swea City Fire Department Hwy 9 Swea IA 50590 515-272-4375

Titonka Fire Department 250 Main Street North Titonka IA 50480 515-928-2020

Wesley Fire Department 200 West Main Street Wesley IA 50483

Whittemore Fire Department 315 4th Street Whittemore IA 50598 515-884-2265

About Kossuth County Fire Departments

Kossuth County Fire Departments provide fire protection and emergency response services to the Kossuth County, IA community with a mission to prevent the loss of life and property. In addition to responding to calls for fire suppression, Kossuth County Fire Departments respond to medical emergencies, incidents involving hazardous materials, rescue calls, and motor vehicle or other accidents.

You may contact the Fire Department for questions about:
  • Kossuth County fire stations
  • 9-1-1 emergencies and first response
  • Fire and emergency preparedness
  • Kossuth County Fire Marshals and Inspectors
  • Kossuth County Fire Department jobs and employment
Fire Departments in Kossuth County

Kossuth County Fire Departments may be staffed with paid professional firefighters, volunteers, or a combination of the two. Professional Fire Services in Iowa are organized around a central command with response units, known as fire companies, geographically dispersed throughout Kossuth County. Kossuth County Volunteer Fire Departments are organized with a similar structure or as independent Kossuth County Fire departments and districts with their own fire company.

First Response and Fire Emergencies in Kossuth County, IA

In an emergency situation, 911 calls are received at a designated public safety answering point (PSAP). The Kossuth County PSAP routes the call to the appropriate dispatch agency, which coordinates the Kossuth County Fire Dept response. The responding Fire House may be determined based on geographic location or the resource needed for the call, such as an aerial ladder, fire hose, fire truck, water pumper, tanker truck, brush fire vehicle, rescue vehicle, or paramedic emergency services. In many cases, multiple Fire Stations and fire engines are dispatched to the emergency.

Kossuth County Fire Code Inspections

Fire prevention education is part of Fire Department operations under the authority of the Kossuth County Fire Marshal. Fire prevention involves the enforcement of the Kossuth County and Iowa Fire Code and is closely associated with the building code and building permitting process. The Fire Marshal is involved in the plan review process for new construction or renovation projects and is responsible for ensuring that Fire Code requirements are met before signing off on design plans. Other common fire prevention efforts include educational programs in Kossuth County schools, public information campaigns, smoke detector distribution programs, and outreach at public events. The Kossuth County Fire Marshal also investigates structure fires to determine their causes.