Johnson County Public School

Find Johnson County Iowa public schools, including charter schools, k-12, elementary, middle, and high schools. Public schools provide information on tuition, school rankings, school enrollment, education, curriculum, classes, records, and teacher-student ratios.

Buford Garner Elementary School 80 Birch Street North Liberty IA 52317 319-688-1190

Central Elementary School 501 6th Street Coralville IA 52241 319-688-1100

City High School 1900 Morningside Drive Iowa IA 52245 319-688-1040

Clear Creek Amana High School 551 West Marengo Road Tiffin IA 52340 319-545-2361

Clear Creek Amana Middle School 311 West Marengo Road Tiffin IA 52340 319-545-4490

Clear Creek Elementary School 230 West Wilson Street Oxford IA 52322 319-828-4505

Elizabeth Tate Alternative High School 1528 Mall Drive Iowa IA 52240 319-688-1080

Ernest Horn Elementary School 600 Koser Avenue Iowa IA 52246 319-688-1115

Grant Wood Elementary School 1930 Lakeside Drive Iowa IA 52240 319-688-1180

Helen Lemme Elementary School 3100 East Washington Street Iowa IA 52245 319-688-1125

Herbert Hoover Elementary School 2200 East Court Street Iowa IA 52245 319-688-1110

Hills Elementary School 301 Main Street Hills IA 52235 319-688-1105

Horace Mann Elementary School 521 North Dodge Street Iowa IA 52245 319-688-1145

James Van Allen Elementary School 170 Abigail Avenue North Liberty IA 52317 319-688-1185

Kirkwood Elementary School 1401 9th Street Coralville IA 52241 319-688-1120

Lakeview Elementary School 111 North Chabal Street Solon IA 52333 319-624-3401

Lincoln Elementary School 300 Teeters Court Iowa IA 52246 319-688-1130

Lone Tree Elementary School 303 Devoe Street South Lone Tree IA 52755 319-629-4213

Lone Tree Junior/Senior High School 303 Devoe Street South Lone Tree IA 52755 319-629-4610

Longfellow Elementary School 1130 Seymour Avenue Iowa IA 52240 319-688-1135

About Johnson County Public Schools

Johnson County Public Schools are tuition-free, publicly funded schools that are legally required to accept and provide an education to all children from Kindergarten age through Grade 12 in Johnson County, IA. Each of the fifty state constitutions includes a requirement for the provision of a Public School system, and each state, including Iowa, also has a compulsory education law that requires school-age children to attend school.

You may contact Public Schools for questions about:
  • Johnson County Public School calendars
  • Admissions policies and enrollment
  • Johnson County school district
  • Academics and school curriculum
  • School buses and transportation
Johnson County School District

Johnson County Public Schools operate within school districts which are separate entities responsible for administering Public Schools. Johnson County school districts are led by boards or commissions who set policy for the district and appoint a Superintendent of Schools. Board and commission members may be elected by voters within the district, or in some cases may be appointed by the legislative body that serves the Johnson County district. While the Iowa State impose frameworks and some minimum requirements for length of school year, teacher qualifications, curriculum and other elements of public education, the Johnson County school district has significant latitude within these frameworks and the authority to manage the day-to-day operation of Public Schools.

Types of Johnson County Public Schools

Johnson County Public Schools are largely organized into three groups, each serving different grade levels. Johnson County Elementary Schools typically serve students from Pre-K, Kindergarten or Grade 1 through Grade 5 or Grade 6. While all Public School districts begin Primary School by Grade 1, not all offer Kindergarten or Pre-K grades. Johnson County Middle Schools cover Grades 6 or 7 through Grade 8. Johnson County High Schools covers Grades 9 through 12. In small school districts, all grades may be served in one school. The completion of Grade 12 is generally considered to indicate student readiness for post-secondary education.

Specialized Public Schools in Johnson County

Many Public School districts offer alternatives to traditional Public School structures, including Charter Schools and Magnet Schools. Johnson County Charter Schools are Public Schools initiated by a parent or community group or organization to serve a special population or to provide special curricula or instructional practices. They are formed by a special charter or agreement with the school district that grants them additional flexibility in how they operate. Johnson County Magnet Schools are Public Schools that offer a specialized theme or subject emphasis, such as science and technology, international and cultural studies, or the arts.