Jefferson County Public School

Find Jefferson County Iowa public schools, including charter schools, k-12, elementary, middle, and high schools. Public schools provide information on tuition, school rankings, school enrollment, education, curriculum, classes, records, and teacher-student ratios.

Fairfield High School 605 East Broadway Avenue Fairfield IA 52556 641-472-2059

Fairfield Middle School 404 West Fillmore Avenue Fairfield IA 52556 641-472-5019

Libertyville Elementary School 202 Jefferson Street Libertyville IA 52567 641-693-3971

Pekin Community High School 1062 Birch Avenue Packwood IA 52580 319-695-3705

Pekin Elementary School 1062 Birch Avenue Packwood IA 52580 641-661-2351

Pence Elementary School 1000 South 6th Street Fairfield IA 52556 641-472-2957

Washington Elementary School 406 East Madison Avenue Fairfield IA 52556 641-472-2110

About Jefferson County Public Schools

Jefferson County Public Schools are tuition-free, publicly funded schools that are legally required to accept and provide an education to all children from Kindergarten age through Grade 12 in Jefferson County, IA. Each of the fifty state constitutions includes a requirement for the provision of a Public School system, and each state, including Iowa, also has a compulsory education law that requires school-age children to attend school.

You may contact Public Schools for questions about:
  • Jefferson County Public School calendars
  • Admissions policies and enrollment
  • Jefferson County school district
  • Academics and school curriculum
  • School buses and transportation
Jefferson County School District

Jefferson County Public Schools operate within school districts which are separate entities responsible for administering Public Schools. Jefferson County school districts are led by boards or commissions who set policy for the district and appoint a Superintendent of Schools. Board and commission members may be elected by voters within the district, or in some cases may be appointed by the legislative body that serves the Jefferson County district. While the Iowa State impose frameworks and some minimum requirements for length of school year, teacher qualifications, curriculum and other elements of public education, the Jefferson County school district has significant latitude within these frameworks and the authority to manage the day-to-day operation of Public Schools.

Types of Jefferson County Public Schools

Jefferson County Public Schools are largely organized into three groups, each serving different grade levels. Jefferson County Elementary Schools typically serve students from Pre-K, Kindergarten or Grade 1 through Grade 5 or Grade 6. While all Public School districts begin Primary School by Grade 1, not all offer Kindergarten or Pre-K grades. Jefferson County Middle Schools cover Grades 6 or 7 through Grade 8. Jefferson County High Schools covers Grades 9 through 12. In small school districts, all grades may be served in one school. The completion of Grade 12 is generally considered to indicate student readiness for post-secondary education.

Specialized Public Schools in Jefferson County

Many Public School districts offer alternatives to traditional Public School structures, including Charter Schools and Magnet Schools. Jefferson County Charter Schools are Public Schools initiated by a parent or community group or organization to serve a special population or to provide special curricula or instructional practices. They are formed by a special charter or agreement with the school district that grants them additional flexibility in how they operate. Jefferson County Magnet Schools are Public Schools that offer a specialized theme or subject emphasis, such as science and technology, international and cultural studies, or the arts.