Hancock County Court

Find Hancock County Iowa courts and courthouses, such as federal, state, district, superior, criminal, common, circuit, judicial, judiciary, divorce, appeals, family, traffic, and small claims courts. Courts provide information on legal cases, law documents, case searches, and appeals.

Garner District Court 855 State Street Garner IA 50438 641-923-2532

About Hancock County Courts

Courts in Hancock County, IA are government institutions that resolve legal disputes in accordance with local Hancock County and Iowa law and are housed in Hancock County courthouses. Courts are divided into Criminal Courts and Civil Courts. In Hancock County Criminal Courts, the government prosecutes a case against parties accused of breaking the law. In Hancock County Civil Courts the Court resolves disputes between citizens.

You may contact Courts for questions about:
  • Hancock County court records and judgments
  • Law documents, filings and case records
  • Appealing Hancock County court judgments
  • Court calendars and dockets
  • Hancock County background checks
Hancock County Court Records

Hancock County court records are available to the public at the Hancock County Courthouse. Records vary by specific court, however, commonly requested public records include copies of court decisions, court filings and records, court dockets and calendars, people and background check information as well as criminal records.

About the US Court System

The United States Legal System is comprised of a Federal Court System and Fifty State Court Systems which hear cases at Hancock County Courthouses.

Hancock County Trial Courts

Hancock County Courts, where cases are heard for the first time, are where both sides, the prosecutor and defendant present evidence to argue and support their versions of events. A jury usually decides the outcome of cases and a single judge presides over the court room.

Limited Jurisdiction Court

Limited Jurisdiction Courts in Hancock County are typically limited to hearing only cases about small claims, traffic and driving violations, and misdemeanor offenses. Other courts of limited jurisdiction include Hancock County Probate Courts and Hancock County Family Courts.

Appellate Court in Hancock County, Iowa

Appellate Courts, or Courts of Appeal, hear appeals of decisions that are reached in Hancock County Trial Courts. A judge or a panel of judges presides over the appellate process and decides the outcome of the trial rather than a jury.

Iowa Federal Courts

Federal Courts are divided into Trial Courts and Appellate courts. Hancock County Federal Courts are divided into Courts of General Jurisdiction and Courts of Limited Jurisdiction. General Jurisdiction Courts preside over all matters of cases, whereas Courts of Limited Jurisdiction are limited by their scope. Federal Courts in Iowa are referred to as Superior Courts or District Courts and have jurisdictional authority over defined geographic areas.

Twelve Circuit Courts comprise the US Appellate Court System with the United States Supreme Court at its head. Appellate Courts in Iowa state are similar to the Federal System, whereas multiple appellate courts hear cases within a defined geographic area, governed by the highest State Court, the Iowa Supreme Court.