Des Moines County Court

Find Des Moines County Iowa courts and courthouses, such as federal, state, district, superior, criminal, common, circuit, judicial, judiciary, divorce, appeals, family, traffic, and small claims courts. Courts provide information on legal cases, law documents, case searches, and appeals.

Burlington District Court 513 North Main Street Burlington IA 52601 319-753-8272

About Des Moines County Courts

Courts in Des Moines County, IA are government institutions that resolve legal disputes in accordance with local Des Moines County and Iowa law and are housed in Des Moines County courthouses. Courts are divided into Criminal Courts and Civil Courts. In Des Moines County Criminal Courts, the government prosecutes a case against parties accused of breaking the law. In Des Moines County Civil Courts the Court resolves disputes between citizens.

You may contact Courts for questions about:
  • Des Moines County court records and judgments
  • Law documents, filings and case records
  • Appealing Des Moines County court judgments
  • Court calendars and dockets
  • Des Moines County background checks
Des Moines County Court Records

Des Moines County court records are available to the public at the Des Moines County Courthouse. Records vary by specific court, however, commonly requested public records include copies of court decisions, court filings and records, court dockets and calendars, people and background check information as well as criminal records.

About the US Court System

The United States Legal System is comprised of a Federal Court System and Fifty State Court Systems which hear cases at Des Moines County Courthouses.

Des Moines County Trial Courts

Des Moines County Courts, where cases are heard for the first time, are where both sides, the prosecutor and defendant present evidence to argue and support their versions of events. A jury usually decides the outcome of cases and a single judge presides over the court room.

Limited Jurisdiction Court

Limited Jurisdiction Courts in Des Moines County are typically limited to hearing only cases about small claims, traffic and driving violations, and misdemeanor offenses. Other courts of limited jurisdiction include Des Moines County Probate Courts and Des Moines County Family Courts.

Appellate Court in Des Moines County, Iowa

Appellate Courts, or Courts of Appeal, hear appeals of decisions that are reached in Des Moines County Trial Courts. A judge or a panel of judges presides over the appellate process and decides the outcome of the trial rather than a jury.

Iowa Federal Courts

Federal Courts are divided into Trial Courts and Appellate courts. Des Moines County Federal Courts are divided into Courts of General Jurisdiction and Courts of Limited Jurisdiction. General Jurisdiction Courts preside over all matters of cases, whereas Courts of Limited Jurisdiction are limited by their scope. Federal Courts in Iowa are referred to as Superior Courts or District Courts and have jurisdictional authority over defined geographic areas.

Twelve Circuit Courts comprise the US Appellate Court System with the United States Supreme Court at its head. Appellate Courts in Iowa state are similar to the Federal System, whereas multiple appellate courts hear cases within a defined geographic area, governed by the highest State Court, the Iowa Supreme Court.