Black Hawk County Court

Find Black Hawk County Iowa courts and courthouses, such as federal, state, district, superior, criminal, common, circuit, judicial, judiciary, divorce, appeals, family, traffic, and small claims courts. Courts provide information on legal cases, law documents, case searches, and appeals.

Waterloo District Court 316 East 5th Street Waterloo IA 50703 319-833-3331

About Black Hawk County Courts

Courts in Black Hawk County, IA are government institutions that resolve legal disputes in accordance with local Black Hawk County and Iowa law and are housed in Black Hawk County courthouses. Courts are divided into Criminal Courts and Civil Courts. In Black Hawk County Criminal Courts, the government prosecutes a case against parties accused of breaking the law. In Black Hawk County Civil Courts the Court resolves disputes between citizens.

You may contact Courts for questions about:
  • Black Hawk County court records and judgments
  • Law documents, filings and case records
  • Appealing Black Hawk County court judgments
  • Court calendars and dockets
  • Black Hawk County background checks
Black Hawk County Court Records

Black Hawk County court records are available to the public at the Black Hawk County Courthouse. Records vary by specific court, however, commonly requested public records include copies of court decisions, court filings and records, court dockets and calendars, people and background check information as well as criminal records.

About the US Court System

The United States Legal System is comprised of a Federal Court System and Fifty State Court Systems which hear cases at Black Hawk County Courthouses.

Black Hawk County Trial Courts

Black Hawk County Courts, where cases are heard for the first time, are where both sides, the prosecutor and defendant present evidence to argue and support their versions of events. A jury usually decides the outcome of cases and a single judge presides over the court room.

Limited Jurisdiction Court

Limited Jurisdiction Courts in Black Hawk County are typically limited to hearing only cases about small claims, traffic and driving violations, and misdemeanor offenses. Other courts of limited jurisdiction include Black Hawk County Probate Courts and Black Hawk County Family Courts.

Appellate Court in Black Hawk County, Iowa

Appellate Courts, or Courts of Appeal, hear appeals of decisions that are reached in Black Hawk County Trial Courts. A judge or a panel of judges presides over the appellate process and decides the outcome of the trial rather than a jury.

Iowa Federal Courts

Federal Courts are divided into Trial Courts and Appellate courts. Black Hawk County Federal Courts are divided into Courts of General Jurisdiction and Courts of Limited Jurisdiction. General Jurisdiction Courts preside over all matters of cases, whereas Courts of Limited Jurisdiction are limited by their scope. Federal Courts in Iowa are referred to as Superior Courts or District Courts and have jurisdictional authority over defined geographic areas.

Twelve Circuit Courts comprise the US Appellate Court System with the United States Supreme Court at its head. Appellate Courts in Iowa state are similar to the Federal System, whereas multiple appellate courts hear cases within a defined geographic area, governed by the highest State Court, the Iowa Supreme Court.