Hays Municipal Court in Hays Kansas

Address and phone number for Hays Municipal Court, a Court, at West 12th Street, Hays KS.

Hays Municipal Court
105 West 12th Street, Hays, Kansas, 67601

Map of Hays Municipal Court in Hays Kansas

Get Directions to Hays Municipal Court

Courts Nearby

Hays District Court
Victoria Municipal Court
Ellis Municipal Court
LaCrosse Municipal Court
LaCrosse District Court
Plainville Municipal Court

Related Resources

About the Hays Municipal Court

The Hays Municipal Court, located in Hays, Kansas is a government institution where legal disputes are resolved in accordance with the law. In Hays Criminal Courts, the government brings a case against a defendant who is accused of breaking the law. In Hays Civil Courts, the Court settles disputes between citizens that they are unable to resolve on their own.

You may contact the Court for questions about:
  • Hays court records
  • Case searches and legal documents
  • Appeals and appellate process
  • Hays court dockets and calendars
  • Background checks
Hays Court Records

The Hays Municipal Court maintains records on a wide variety of public court records that are available upon request at the Ellis County Courthouse. Interested parties may contact the Ellis County Court and request copies of records which may include case documents, court decisions, court records, court dockets and calendars, criminal records and background checks.

About the United States Court System

The Court system in the United States is made up of a Federal Court system and fifty state Court systems. In each system, there are two general types of Courts: Trial Courts and Appellate Courts.

Hays Trial Court

Trial Courts in Hays, KS hear cases for the first time. In a Trial Court, both sides of the dispute present evidence to support their version of events, and a jury is usually called on to decide the case. One judge presides over the case in a Trial Court.

Limited Jurisdiction Court

Ellis County Courts of limited jurisdiction may be limited to hearing only cases involving misdemeanors, small claims, or traffic and other minor violations in Kansas. Courts of limited jurisdiction may also only hear cases on specific subject matter, such as Ellis County Probate Courts and Ellis County Family Courts.

Hays Appellate Court

Hays Appellate Courts hear appeals of decisions reached at Trial Courts in Ellis County. No new evidence is presented in Appellate Court. A judge or panel of judges decides the appeal rather than a jury.

Federal Courts in Kansas

In the Federal Court system, District Courts serve as the Trial Courts. In the state Court systems, Trial Courts are further grouped into Courts of general jurisdiction and Courts of limited jurisdiction. Courts of general jurisdiction are Courts that can hear cases of any kind, including felonies. The names for Courts of general jurisdiction vary but are referred to as Superior Courts or District Courts and may be organized to hear cases within certain geographic areas, such as Ellis County.

The Appellate Courts in the Federal Court system consist of twelve Circuit Courts that are organized regionally and the U.S. Supreme Court, which is the highest Court in the country. Appellate Courts at the Kansas state level mirror the Federal structure, with one or more Appellate Courts and a Kansas Supreme Court.

Contact the Hays Municipal Court

You may contact the Hays Courthouse by calling the Hays Municipal Court non-emergency number 785-625-1030, or by addressing inquiries to the office mailing address: Hays Municipal Court, 105 West 12th Street, Hays, Kansas, 67601.