Cobb County Utilities

Find Cobb County Georgia utilities. Utilities provide information on public services including electricity (power and light companies), oil and gas (home heating and cooking), waste and sewage companies.

Cobb County Marietta Water Authority 1170 Atlanta Industrial Drive Marietta GA 30066 770-514-5201

Georgia Power Company 1450 Atlanta Road Southeast Marietta GA 30060 770-428-2438

Marietta City Utilities Board 675 North Marietta Parkway Northeast Marietta GA 30060 770-794-5192

Marietta Power And Water 627 North Marietta Parkway Northeast Marietta GA 30060 770-794-5150

Municipal Gas Authority of Georgia 104 Townpark Drive Kennesaw GA 30144 770-590-1000

The Cobb County Water System 490 Lee Industrial Boulevard Austell GA 30168 770-819-3204

The Cobb County-Marietta Water Authority 3728 Mars Hill Church Road Northwest Acworth GA 30101 770-974-4286

About Cobb County Utilities

Cobb County Utilities are business enterprises that provide essential public services including electricity, natural gas, water, and sewer services in Cobb County, GA. Because of the infrastructure required to deliver services, a monopoly is often the most economical way for an utility service to operate. Cobb County Public Utility Companies serve all of the customers for a particular service in Cobb County.

You may contact Utilities for questions about:
  • Cobb County Utilities billing and payments
  • Sewer rates and water bills
  • Setting up Utilities
  • Power outages
  • Natural gas hookups
Public & Private Utility Companies

Utilities in Cobb County, Georgia may be publicly owned enterprises or private companies. In both cases, the primary source of revenue supporting the Utility is user fees paid by customers. In the case of publicly owned Utilities, the assets of the Utility are owned by the Cobb County Government Utilities Department, but it operates as a self-sustaining public enterprise supported by its own revenues rather than relying on taxes to fund operations.

Public Utilities Commissions in Cobb County, Georgia

In Georgia, Utilities are regulated by the Cobb County Public Services Commissions or Public Utilities Commission. Public Services Commissions are necessary when monopolies exist or in cases where competition is very limited, to ensure that Cobb County consumers receive safe, reliable, and reasonably priced services from competent and financially viable companies. Cobb County Utilities must receive approval for the rates they charge and they are also required to demonstrate to the Cobb County Public Services Commission that they have plans to maintain an infrastructure capable of supporting current and future demand for services.

Electric Utilities

Cobb County Electric Utilities are the most likely to function as a hybrid of monopoly and competitive services. Only one system for transmitting and delivering electricity to customers is feasible in a given service area such as Cobb County, GA. Therefore, transmission and distribution of electricity operates as a monopoly and customers do not have a choice when selecting their Cobb County electric power company. However, the electricity in the Cobb County electric grid may come from numerous suppliers.

Water Utilities

Water Utility Services in Cobb County provide potable tap water directly to residential, commercial, industrial, and institutional customers through a distribution system.

Sewer Utilities

Cobb County Sewer Service Companies receive wastewater from customers via sanitary sewers at a wastewater treatment plant. The Sewer Utility treats the wastewater to reduce pollutants before it is released into Cobb County waterways.

Natural Gas Utilities

Cobb County Natural Gas Companies are essentially local distribution companies that deliver natural gas, received from large capacity interstate or intrastate pipelines, to individual customers through small diameter distribution pipelines.