Clay County Court

Find Clay County Georgia courts and courthouses, such as federal, state, district, superior, criminal, common, circuit, judicial, judiciary, divorce, appeals, family, traffic, and small claims courts. Courts provide information on legal cases, law documents, case searches, and appeals.

Fort Gaines Magistrate Court 210 Washington Street Fort Gaines GA 39851 229-768-2631

Fort Gaines Municipal Court 103 Commerce Street Fort Gaines GA 39851 229-768-2443

Fort Gaines Superior Court 210 Washington Street Fort Gaines GA 39851 229-768-2631

About Clay County Courts

Courts in Clay County, GA are government institutions that resolve legal disputes in accordance with local Clay County and Georgia law and are housed in Clay County courthouses. Courts are divided into Criminal Courts and Civil Courts. In Clay County Criminal Courts, the government prosecutes a case against parties accused of breaking the law. In Clay County Civil Courts the Court resolves disputes between citizens.

You may contact Courts for questions about:
  • Clay County court records and judgments
  • Law documents, filings and case records
  • Appealing Clay County court judgments
  • Court calendars and dockets
  • Clay County background checks
Clay County Court Records

Clay County court records are available to the public at the Clay County Courthouse. Records vary by specific court, however, commonly requested public records include copies of court decisions, court filings and records, court dockets and calendars, people and background check information as well as criminal records.

About the US Court System

The United States Legal System is comprised of a Federal Court System and Fifty State Court Systems which hear cases at Clay County Courthouses.

Clay County Trial Courts

Clay County Courts, where cases are heard for the first time, are where both sides, the prosecutor and defendant present evidence to argue and support their versions of events. A jury usually decides the outcome of cases and a single judge presides over the court room.

Limited Jurisdiction Court

Limited Jurisdiction Courts in Clay County are typically limited to hearing only cases about small claims, traffic and driving violations, and misdemeanor offenses. Other courts of limited jurisdiction include Clay County Probate Courts and Clay County Family Courts.

Appellate Court in Clay County, Georgia

Appellate Courts, or Courts of Appeal, hear appeals of decisions that are reached in Clay County Trial Courts. A judge or a panel of judges presides over the appellate process and decides the outcome of the trial rather than a jury.

Georgia Federal Courts

Federal Courts are divided into Trial Courts and Appellate courts. Clay County Federal Courts are divided into Courts of General Jurisdiction and Courts of Limited Jurisdiction. General Jurisdiction Courts preside over all matters of cases, whereas Courts of Limited Jurisdiction are limited by their scope. Federal Courts in Georgia are referred to as Superior Courts or District Courts and have jurisdictional authority over defined geographic areas.

Twelve Circuit Courts comprise the US Appellate Court System with the United States Supreme Court at its head. Appellate Courts in Georgia state are similar to the Federal System, whereas multiple appellate courts hear cases within a defined geographic area, governed by the highest State Court, the Georgia Supreme Court.